MenuMenu    Deutsch

F.I.N.D. 2014

Festival of International New Drama 
3 to 13 April 2014

With the 14th Festival of International New Drama the Schaubühne presents eleven days of new productions and texts by dramatists from around the world. This year’s F.I.N.D. focuses on the interface between private life, art and political responsibility. The invited artists pose questions about the extent of political responsibility in their art and whether it has the power to change anything. A special focus lies on the Spanish-speaking countries, where current social movements and conflicts mean that the meeting of the political and the private is especially visible – both in real life and on stage.

The festival opens with the German language premiere of the stage adaptation of Roberto Bolaño’s cult novel »2666«. In his 2003 work the author creates a worldwide pandemonium of terror between Europe’s metropolises, Nazi-era Germany, the USA and Latin America. At the centre is the Mexican city Santa Teresa at the US border: the town with the world’s highest murder rate and the eye of the storm on a planet undergoing frenetic globalisation.

In »Daisy« the Spanish writer and director Rodrigo García sends his two protagonists to do battle with the banality of everyday life, the emptiness of high Western civilisation and the absurdity of existence. In »Todo el cielo sobre la tierra (The Wendy Syndrome)« Spanish writer and performer Angélica Liddell explores, together with stuffed alligators and Chinese street-waltzers, the fear and ensuing pain of being left. In his stage adaptation of Lars von Trier’s film »Idiots« Kirill Serebrennikov transfers the action to present-day Moscow and depicts a group of outsiders protesting against the constraints of contemporary Russian society.

Lebanese theatre-makers and artists Lina Saneh and Rabih Mroué are showing a production at the Schaubühne for the first time: »33 RPM and a few Seconds« is an analysis of the consequences of the Arab Spring in Lebanon. Chile’s Teatro La Re-sentida and the Lagartijas tiradas al sol collective from Mexico are also appearing at the Schaubühne as they grapple in contrasting ways with the forms and possibilities of political theatre. Mina Salehpour, winner of the 2013 FAUST Award for Best Director of Children’s and Youth Theatre, is directing »This Grave is Too Small for Me« by Serbian playwright Biljana Srbljanović: a piece about young people who assassinate Franz Ferdinand and consequently bring about the First World War.

Swiss theatre-maker Milo Rau will be presenting excerpts from his new work »The Civil Wars« and discussing documentary and political theatre in a studio talk. With a documentary film, talk and hip-hop concert we will also be commemorating the Palestinian theatre-maker Juliano Mer-Khamis who was murdered three years ago and participated in F.I.N.D. in 2008.

In the Schaubühne Studio Swedish theatre-maker Thomas Bo Nilsson (previously part of the SIGNA performance group) is showing a 240 hour-long, large-scale walk-in installation in which the visitor can experience rooms and characters inspired by the Canadian porn star and suspected cannibal and murderer Luka Magnotta.

This year the festival is hosting an English language blog for the first time: at the Canadian writer, historian and Berlin-expert Dr Joseph Pearson ( will be blogging on each of the plays presented in F.I.N.D. – including interviews, portraits of the directors and writers and background information on the productions.
In 2014, the »« workshop programme takes place for the fourth time. It brings together acting, directing and dramaturgy students from Germany, France and a new third country each year. The participants will meet the festival´s theatre makers and attend masterclasses with renowned directors. This year we are welcoming students from Rennes, Strasbourg, Lyon, Berlin and Zagreb. The students from the Academy of Dramatic Art in Zagreb are here for the first time. After hosting students from Russia, Palestine, Poland and Hungary at the past »F.I.N.D. plus« programmes, the Schaubühne will once again be an exciting meeting place for young theatre makers.


Premiere/German Language Premiere
by Roberto Bolaño
Direction: Àlex Rigola
German with English surtitles
On 3 and 7 April at 19.00 h and on 6 April at 17.00 h

Premiere/Workshop Production (Serbia/Germany)
»Dieses Grab ist mir zu klein«
This Grave is too small for me
Text: Biljana Srbljanović
Direction: Mina Salehpour
German with English surtitles
On 6 April at 21.30 h and on 13 April at 20.00 h

Premiere/240 hours Performance-Installation (Sweden)
by Thomas Bo Nilsson
German and English
From 3 to 13 April at the Studio

Guest Production of the Compagnie Rodrigo García (Spain) and Bonlieu Scène nationale Annecy (France)
by Rodrigo García
Direction and Set Design: Rodrigo García
Spanish with German and English surtitles
On 4 and 5 April at 20.00 h

Guest Production of the Atra Bilis Teatro (Spain)
»Todo el cielo sobre la tierra (El síndrome de Wendy)«
All the Sky above the Earth (The Wendy Syndrome)
by Angélica Liddell
Text, Direction, Set Design and Costume Design: Angélica Liddell
Spanish, Mandarin and Norwegian with german and english surtitles
On 9 and 10 April at 20.00 h

Guest Production of the Gogol Center (Russia)
by Lars von Trier
Direction: Kirill Serebrennikov
Russian with German and English surtitles
On 11 and 12 April at 19.30 h

Guest Production from the Lebanon
»33 RPM and a few Seconds«
by Rabih Mroué and Lina Saneh
Direction: Rabih Mroué, Lina Saneh
French/English/Arabic with German surtitles
On 4 April at 19.30 (FR) and 21.30 h (EN) and on 5 April at 16.00 h (AR)

Guest Production from Mexico
»Derretiré con un cerillo la nieve de un volcán«
by Lagartijas tiradas al sol
Text and Coordination: Luisa Pardo and Gabino Rodríguez
Spanish with German and English surtitles
On 8 and 9 April at 20.30 h

Guest Production from Chile
»Tratando de hacer una obra que cambie el mundo«
by La Re-sentida
Direction: Marco Layera
Spanish with German and English surtitles
On 11 April at 22.30 h and on 12 April on 18.00 h

Remembering Juliano Mer-Khamis
by Batoul Taleb, Mariam Abu Khaled, Udi Aloni
Followed by post-show discussion with Thomas Ostermeier and Udi Aloni (director)
Film in Arabic, English and Hebrew with English surtitles, talk in English
On 5 April at 19.00 h
Concert of the Palestinian Hip-Hop formation DAM
Afterwards party with DJ Aral and DJ Phil Stumpf
On 5 April from 22.30 h

Authors Club
Wengenroth’s Writers’ Club: Third Edition – Roberto Bolaño
by and with Patrick Wengenroth and his guests
Music: Matze Kloppe
On 4 April at 23.00 h

Studio Talk Milo Rau
with Florian Borchmeyer
On 12 April at 16.00 h

by Duncan Macmillan
Direction: Katie Mitchell
German with English surtitles
On 13 April at 18.00 h

Festival party
Autistic Disco – Pop is pop and art is art
Party with DJ Lars Eidinger (Fix & Foxi  C’burg/STUD!O K7) and a live concert by h e r m a n - small club
On 12 April from 23.00 h

Within the context of F.I.N.D. we would like to present the following event:
Der Goldene Drache
by Roland Schimmelpfennig
Direction: Margarete Schuler
On 3 April at 20.00 h and on 4 April at 18.00 h and 20.30 at bat Studiotheater (Belforter Straße 15, Berlin Prenzlauer Berg)
More information:

Funded by

Supported by



Presentd by

MenüMenü    English

«  August  »

Mo Di Mi Do Fr Sa So

1

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

24

25

26

27

28

29

30

31

       

F.I.N.D. 2014

Festival Internationale Neue Dramatik
Vom 3. bis 13. April 2014


Beim 14. Festival Internationale Neue Dramatik präsentiert die Schaubühne elf Tage lang neue Inszenierungen und Texte von Theaterautoren aus aller Welt. Das diesjährige F.I.N.D. beschäftigt sich mit der Schnittstelle von Privatem, Kunst und politischer Verantwortung. Die eingeladenen Künstler stellen sich auf ganz unterschiedliche Art und Weise die Frage, inwiefern ihre Kunst eine politische Verantwortung hat und sie etwas mit ihrer Arbeit bewirken können. Ein Schwerpunkt liegt auf den spanischsprachigen Ländern, wo die derzeitigen gesellschaftlichen Bewegungen und Konflikte das Zusammentreffen von Politischem und Privatem besonders sichtbar machen – in der Wirklichkeit, wie auf der Bühne.

Den Auftakt des Festivals bildet die deutschsprachige Erstaufführung der Dramatisierung von Roberto Bolaños Kultroman »2666«. In seinem 2003 veröffentlichten Roman entwirft der Autor ein weltumspannendes Panorama des Schreckens zwischen den Metropolen Europas, dem Deutschland der NS-Zeit, den USA und Lateinamerika. Im Zentrum steht die mexikanische Stadt Santa Teresa an der Grenze zu den Vereinigten Staaten von Amerika: die Stadt mit der höchsten Mordquote der Welt und Auge des Sturms in einer sich frenetisch globalisierenden Welt.

Der spanische Autor und Regisseur Rodrigo García schickt in »Daisy« zwei Protagonisten in den Kampf mit der Banalität des Alltags, dem Leerlauf westlicher Hochzivilisation und der Lachhaftigkeit des Daseins. In »Todo el cielo sobre la tierra (El síndrome de Wendy)« erforscht die spanische Autorin und Performerin Angélica Liddell zusammen mit ausgestopften Alligatoren und chinesischen Straßenwalzertänzern die Angst vor dem Verlassenwerden und den Schmerz danach. Kirill Serebrennikov verlegt in seiner Bühnenversion von Lars von Triers Film »Idioten« die Handlung ins heutige Moskau und zeigt eine Gruppe von Außenseitern, die gegen die Zwänge der russischen Gesellschaft protestiert.

Die libanesischen Theatermacher und bildenden Künstler Lina Saneh und Rabih Mroué werden zum ersten Mal eine Produktion an der Schaubühne zeigen: »33 RPM and a few Seconds« ist eine Auseinandersetzung mit den Auswirkungen des Arabischen Frühlings im Libanon. Auch das chilenische Teatro La Re-sentida und das mexikanische Kollektiv Lagartijas tiradas al sol sind zu Gast und setzen sich auf sehr unterschiedliche Weise mit den Formen und Möglichkeiten des politischen Theaters auseinander. Mina Salehpour, FAUST-Preisträgerin 2013 für die beste Regie im Kinder- und Jugendtheater, inszeniert »Dieses Grab ist mir zu klein« der serbischen Autorin Biljana Srbljanović; ein Stück über Jugendliche, die das Attentat auf Franz Ferdinand verüben und so den Ersten Weltkrieg verursachen.

Der Schweizer Theatermacher Milo Rau wird Auszüge aus seiner neuen Arbeit »The Civil Wars« vorstellen und in einem Werkstattgespräch über dokumentarisches und politisches Theater sprechen. Außerdem gedenken wir mit einem  Dokumentarfilm, einem Gespräch und einem Hip Hop-Konzert des vor drei Jahren ermordeten palästinensischen Theatermachers Juliano Mer-Khamis, der 2008 bei F.I.N.D. zu Gast war.

Im Studio der Schaubühne zeigt der schwedische Theatermacher Thomas Bo Nilsson (ehemals Teil der Performancegruppe SIGNA) eine 240 Stunden lang begehbare, großangelegte Installation, in der die Zuschauer Räume und Figuren erleben, die von Luka Magnotta, dem kanadischen Pornodarsteller und mutmaßlichen Kannibalen und Mörder, inspiriert sind.

In diesem Jahr gibt es erstmals einen englischsprachigen Blog zum Festival. Auf www.find-blog.de wird der kanadische Autor, Historiker und Berlin-Experte Dr. Joseph Pearson (www.needleberlin.com) zu jedem der im Rahmen von F.I.N.D. präsentierten Stücke einen Blogeintrag verfassen – mit Interviews, Portraits der Regisseure und Autoren sowie Hintergrundinformationen zu den Inszenierungen.

F.I.N.D.plus
Das Workshop-Programm »F.I.N.D. plus« findet 2014 zum vierten Mal statt. Es bringt Schauspiel-, Regie- und Dramaturgiestudierende aus Deutschland, Frankreich und jedes Jahr aus einem neuen dritten Partnerland zusammen. Sie treffen auf die eingeladenen Theatermacher des Festivals und arbeiten in Workshops renommierter Regisseure. In diesem Jahr begrüßen wir Studierende aus Rennes, Straßburg, Lyon, Berlin und Zagreb. Die Studierenden der Akademie der dramatischen Künste der Universität von Zagreb sind zum ersten Mal dabei. In den vergangenen Jahren waren Studenten aus Russland, Palästina, Polen und Ungarn Teilnehmer dieser ungewöhnlichen und spannenden Begegnungsmöglichkeit für junge Theatermacher.

PROGRAMMÜBERSICHT

Premiere/Deutschsprachige Erstaufführung
»2666«
von Roberto Bolaño
Regie: Àlex Rigola
Deutsch mit englischen Übertiteln
Am 3. und 7. April um 19 Uhr und am 6. April um 17 Uhr

Premiere/Werkstattinszenierung (Serbien/Deutschland)
»Dieses Grab ist mir zu klein«
Text: Biljana Srbljanović
Regie: Mina Salehpour
Deutsch mit englischen Übertiteln
Am 6. April um 21.30 Uhr und am 13. April um 20 Uhr

Premiere/240 Stunden Performance-Installation (Schweden)
»MEAT«
von Thomas Bo Nilsson
Deutsch und Englisch
Vom 3. bis 13. April im Studio

Gastspiel der Compagnie Rodrigo García (Spanien) und Bonlieu Scène nationale Annecy (Frankreich)
»Daisy«
von Rodrigo García
Regie und Bühne: Rodrigo García
Spanisch mit deutschen und englischen Übertiteln
Am 4. und 5. April um 20 Uhr

Gastspiel des Atra Bilis Teatro (Spanien)
»Todo el cielo sobre la tierra (El síndrome de Wendy)«
Der ganze Himmel über der Erde (Das Wendy-Syndrom)
von Angélica Liddell
Text, Regie, Bühne und Kostüme: Angélica Liddell
Spanisch, Mandarin und Norwegisch mit deutschen und englischen Übertiteln
Am 9. und 10. April um 20 Uhr

Gastspiel des Gogol Center (Russland)
»Idioten«
von Lars von Trier
Regie: Kirill Serebrennikov
Russisch mit deutschen und englischen Übertiteln
Am 11. und 12. April um 19.30 Uhr

Gastspiel aus dem Libanon
»33 RPM and a few Seconds«
von Rabih Mroué und Lina Saneh
Regie: Rabih Mroué, Lina Saneh
Französisch/Englisch/Arabisch mit deutschen Übertiteln
Am 4. April um 19.30 (FR) und 21.30 Uhr (EN) und am 5. April um 16 Uhr (AR)

Gastspiel aus Mexiko
»Derretiré con un cerillo la nieve de un volcán«
Ich schmelze mit einem Streichholz den Schnee eines Vulkans
von Lagartijas tiradas al sol
Text und Koordination: Luisa Pardo, Gabino Rodríguez
Spanisch mit deutschen und englischen Übertiteln
Am 8. und 9. April um 20.30 Uhr

Gastspiel aus Chile
»Tratando de hacer una obra que cambie el mundo«
Der Versuch ein Stück zu machen, das die Welt verändert
von La Re-sentida
Regie: Marco Layera
Spanisch mit deutschen und englischen Übertiteln
Am 11. April um 22.30 Uhr und am 12. April um 18 Uhr

Weitermachen: Im Gedenken an Juliano Mer-Khamis
Film »ART / VIOLENCE«
von Batoul Taleb, Mariam Abu Khaled, Udi Aloni
Im Anschluss Gespräch zwischen Thomas Ostermeier und Udi Aloni (Regisseur)
Film in Arabisch, Englisch und Hebräisch mit englischen Übertiteln, Gespräch in englischer Sprache
Am 5. April um 19 Uhr
Konzert der palästinensischen Hip-Hop-Formation DAM
Im Anschluss Party mit DJ Aral und DJ Phil Stumpf
Am 5. April ab 22.30 Uhr

Autorenklub
»Wengenroths Autorenklub: Ausgabe Drei  – Roberto Bolaño«
von und mit Patrick Wengenroth und Gästen
Musik: Matze Kloppe
Deutsch
Am 4. April um 23.00 Uhr

Gespräch
Werkstattgespräch Milo Rau
Moderation: Florian Borchmeyer
Deutsch
Am 12. April um 16.00 Uhr

Repertoire
Atmen
von Duncan Macmillan
Regie: Katie Mitchell
Deutsch mit englischen Übertiteln
Am 13. April um 18.00 Uhr

Festivalparty
Autistic Disco – Pop is pop and art is art
Party mit eklektischer Popmusik von DJ Lars Eidinger (Fix & Foxi  C’burg/STUD!O K7) und einem Live-Konzert von h e r m a n - small club, einer Formation bestehend aus Demba Nabe Boundzound (neben Peter Fox und Delle der dritte Frontmann von Seeed) und f i s c h e r (Blue Man Group)
Am 12. April ab 23.00 Uhr

Im Rahmen von F.I.N.D. möchten wir auf folgende Veranstaltung hinweisen:
Der Goldene Drache
von Roland Schimmelpfennig
Regie: Margarete Schuler
Am 3. April um 20.00 Uhr und am 4. April um 18.00 Uhr und 20.30 Uhr im bat Studiotheater (Belforter Straße 15, Berlin Prenzlauer Berg)
Weitere Informationen: www.bat-berlin.de


Gefördert durch

Mit freundlicher Unterstützung

   

 

Medienpartner



«  August  »

Mo Di Mi Do Fr Sa So

1

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

24

25

26

27

28

29

30

31