General Assembly

by Milo Rau / IIPM


There are no democratic structures on a global level, which can regulate the world market, prosecute violations of international law, or direct ecological developments into the right channels. The »General Assembly«, which will be convening 60 representatives from all over the world in Berlin, is filling this gap with its concept of an actual world parliament. In five plenary sessions, the representatives of the »General Assembly« will debate on where we stand as a global community and what needs to be done − socially, ecologically, technologically, politically. What does political sovereignty mean in the age of globalization? How do the interests of the world’s population relate to the democratic principles of the national states? Whose demands for independence, dignity, and happiness can become the demands of all mankind? A local parliament will be replaced by a global parliament, which will urge the members of the newly elected German government to join them. The first world parliament in the history of mankind, which will be accompanied by a group of international political observers, will conclude with the passing of the »Charter for the 21st Century«.

Political observers: Tariq Ali (author, historian), Armen Avanessian (philosopher and political theorist), Ulrike Guérot (political scientist), Wolfgang Kaleck (human rights advocate, founder of the ECCHR), Chantal Mouffe (professor of political theory), Anu Muhammad (professor of economics)
Stenographers: Mely Kiyak (independent journalist), Robert Misik (journalist, political writer)
Members of the Bundestag who have already joined the »General Assembly«: Frank Heinrich (CDU), Andrej Hunko (The Left), Uwe Kekeritz (Alliance 90/The Greens), Katja Kipping (The Left), Dr. Daniela De Ridder (SPD), Kathrin Vogler (The Left)

Programme

Friday, 3 November, 19–21h: Constitutive Session
Saturday, 4 November, 10–13h: 1st Plenary Session – Diplomatic Relations, Sanctions and Wars
Saturday, 4 November, 13.30–16.30h: 2nd Plenary Session – The Regulation of Global Economy
Saturday, 4 November, 17–20h: 3rd Plenary Session – Migration and Border Regime
Sunday, 5 November, 10–13h: 4th Plenary Session – Cultural Global Commons
Sunday, 5 November, 13.30–16.30h: 5th Plenary Session – Natural Global Commons
Sunday, 5 November, 17–19h: Closing Session

Admission: every session 5 Euro (reduced 2,50), combined ticket for all 7 sessions: 25 Euro

The General Assembly will be broadcasted live to Brussels (Théâtre National Wallonie-Bruxelles), Gent (NTGent), Hamburg (Thalia Theater), Munich (SPIELART Festival) and Paris (Théâtre Nanterre-Amandiers).

Further information at www.general-assembly.net

Concept and direction: Milo Rau
Research and Dramaturgy: Eva-Maria Bertschy
Set Design: Anton Lukas
Dramaturgic collaboration: Stefan Bläske, Carmen A. J. Hornbostel
Assistant Researcher: Kasia Wojcik
Production: Mascha Euchner-Martinez, Eva-Karen Tittmann
Collaboration Production: Thomas Fabian Eder


The »General Assembly« is a production of the IIPM – International Institute of Political Murder in collaboration with the Schaubühne am Lehniner Platz, sponsored by the Federal Cultural Foundation, the multi-sector funding Berlin of the Senate Department of Culture and Europe and the Federal Agency for Civic Education and supported by ECCHR – European Center for Constitutional and Human Rights, medico international, Rosa Luxemburg Foundation and Rainforest Rescue.

In collaboration with Agit Polska, Bahrain Watch, Berlin Postkolonial, Club der polnischen Versager, German Network and Coordination Office Against Trafficking In Human Beings (KOK), Diem25, European Alternatives, FUTURZWEI, Germanwatch, Society for Threatened Peoples, Heinrich Böll Foundation, ADEFRA (Initiative of black women in Germany), ISD – Initiative of Black People in Germany, int.ie, Campaign for a United Nations Parliamentary Assembly / Democracy Without Borders, Kinder- und Jugendparlament Tempelhof-Schöneberg, Kurdish Community Germany, Oficina Precaria Berlin / 15 M, Open Knowledge Foundation Deutschland, Plough Back The Fruits - basflonmin.com, PowerShift, Reporter ohne Grenzen, RomaTrial, Tierfabriken Widerstand, Urgewald, Voix des Migrants, Welthungerhilfe u. v. a.

General Assembly

von Milo Rau / IIPM


Auf globaler Ebene existieren keine demokratischen Strukturen, die den Weltmarkt regulieren, völkerrechtliche Verstöße verfolgen oder ökologische Entwicklungen in sinnvolle Bahnen leiten könnten. Die »General Assembly«, die 60 Abgeordnete aus der ganzen Welt in Berlin versammelt, füllt mit ihrem Entwurf eines tatsächlichen Weltparlaments diese Leerstelle. In fünf Plenarsitzungen fragen die Abgeordneten der »General Assembly«, wo wir als Weltgemeinschaft stehen und was zu tun ist – sozial, ökologisch, technologisch, politisch. Was bedeutet politische Souveränität im Zeitalter der Globalisierung? Wie verhalten sich die Interessen der Weltbevölkerung zu den demokratischen Prinzipien der Nationalstaaten? Wessen Forderungen nach Unabhängigkeit, Würde und Glück können zu den Forderungen der ganzen Menschheit werden? An die Stelle eines Lokalparlaments tritt ein Globalparlament, das die Mitglieder der neu gewählten deutschen Regierung auffordert, sich anzuschließen. Das erste Weltparlament der Menschheitsgeschichte, begleitet von einer Gruppe internationaler politischer Beobachter, gipfelt in der Verabschiedung der »Charta für das 21. Jahrhundert«.

Politische Beobachter: Tariq Ali (Autor, Historiker), Armen Avanessian (Philosoph und politischer Theoretiker), Ulrike Guérot (Politikwissenschaftlerin), Wolfgang Kaleck (Menschenrechtsanwalt, Gründer des ECCHR), Chantal Mouffe (Professorin für politische Theorie), Anu Muhammad (Wirtschaftswissenschaftler)
Stenographen: Mely Kiyak (freie Journalistin), Robert Misik (Journalist und politischer Schriftsteller)
Bundestagsabgeordnete, die sich der »General Assembly« bereits angeschlossen haben: Frank Heinrich (CDU), Andrej Hunko (Die Linke), Uwe Kekeritz (Bündnis 90/Die Grünen), Katja Kipping (Die Linke), Dr. Daniela De Ridder (SPD), Kathrin Vogler (Die Linke)

Programm

Freitag, 3. November, 19–21 Uhr: Eröffnungssitzung
Samstag, 4. November, 10–13 Uhr: 1. Plenarsitzung – Diplomatische Beziehungen, Sanktionen und Kriege
Samstag, 4. November, 13.30–16.30 Uhr: 2. Plenarsitzung – Die Regulierungen der globalen Wirtschaft
Samstag, 4. November, 17–20 Uhr: 3. Plenarsitzung – Migration und Grenzregime
Sonntag, 5. November, 10–13 Uhr: 4. Plenarsitzung – Cultural Global Commons
Sonntag, 5. November, 13.30–16.30 Uhr: 5. Plenarsitzung – Natural Global Commons
Sonntag, 5. November, 17–19 Uhr: Schlusssitzung

Eintritt: jede Sitzung 5 Euro (ermäßigt 2,50), Kombi-Ticket für alle 7 Sitzungen: 25 Euro

Die General Assembly wird live übertragen nach Brüssel (Théâtre National Wallonie-Bruxelles), Gent (NTGent), Hamburg (Thalia Theater), München (SPIELART Festival) und Paris (Théâtre Nanterre-Amandiers).

Weitere Informationen und Livestream der Plenarsitzungen auf www.general-assembly.net

Konzept und Regie: Milo Rau
Recherche und Dramaturgie: Eva-Maria Bertschy
Bühne und Ausstattung: Anton Lukas
Dramaturgische Mitarbeit: Stefan Bläske, Carmen A. J. Hornbostel
Mitarbeit Recherche: Kasia Wojcik
Produktionsleitung: Mascha Euchner-Martinez, Eva-Karen Tittmann
Mitarbeit Produktionsleitung: Thomas Fabian Eder


Die »General Assembly« ist eine Produktion des IIPM – International Institute of Political Murder in Koproduktion mit der Schaubühne am Lehniner Platz, gefördert durch die Kulturstiftung des Bundes, die Spartenoffene Förderung Berlin durch die Senatsverwaltung für Kultur und Europa und die Bundeszentrale für politische Bildung und unterstützt durch Brot für die Welt, European Center for Constitutional and Human Rights – ECCHR, medico international, Rettet den Regenwald und die Rosa-Luxemburg-Stiftung.

In Kooperation mit: Agit Polska, Bahrain Watch, Berlin Postkolonial, Bundesweiter Koordinationskreis gegen Menschenhandel, Club der polnischen Versager, Diem25, European Alternatives, FUTURZWEI, Germanwatch, Gesellschaft für bedrohte Völker, Initiative Schwarze Frauen in Deutschland – ADEFRA, Initiative Schwarze Menschen in Deutschland – ISD, int.ie, Kampagne für ein Parlament bei der UNO / Democracy Without Borders, Kinder- und Jugendparlament Tempelhof-Schöneberg, Kurdische Gemeinde Deutschland, Oficina Precaria Berlin / 15 M, Open Knowledge Foundation Deutschland, Plough Back The Fruits - basflonmin.com, PowerShift, Reporter ohne Grenzen, RomaTrial, Tierfabriken Widerstand, Urgewald, Voix des Migrants, Welthungerhilfe u. v. a.