Tristesses

Concept, Text and Direction: Anne-Cécile Vandalem (Brussels/Liège)


Guest performance during FIND 2017

Europe, the present. Radical right-wing parties are experiencing a meteoric rise. Among them is Martha Heiger’s »Party of National Awakening« which is gaining an increasing amount of influence in the Scandinavian countries. Only eight inhabitants remain on the fictional Danish island of »Sadnesses«, all bound together by a strange melancholy. One day the body of Ida Heiger, Martha’s mother, is discovered on the island. Her corpse is wrapped in a Danish flag and she appears to have hanged herself. Party leader Martha Heiger, who is just about to be elected Prime Minister, has a strong interest in hushing up the affair. Her arrival is announced on the island for the funeral. Two young women whose future has been threatened by the politician plot to kill her. But on the day of the burial itself, the situation is turned upon its head … In »Tristesses« Anne-Cécile Vandalem, who herself plays Martha Heiger, explores the relationship between power and emotionalisation. The tone of the production constantly fluctuates between criminal investigation and political comedy. With a large ensemble cast, live video and music especially composed for the piece, along with a rich vein of dark humour, Anne-Cécile Vandalem lays bare how contemporary politics is rendered hysterical, emotionalised and manipulated as well as revealing the questionable role the media plays in political discourse.

>>> Essay about the production in Pearson's Preview: Creating Distance

Coproduction: Théâtre de Liège / Le Volcan – Scène Nationale du Havre / Théâtre National – Bruxelles / Théâtre de Namur, centre dramatique / Le Manège.Mons / Bonlieu Scène Nationale Annecy / Maison de la Culture d’Amiens – Centre européen de création et de production / Les Théâtres de Marseille – Aix en Provence. Prospero coproduction: Théâtre National de Bretagne / Théâtre de Liège / Schaubühne Berlin / Göteborgs Stadsteatern / Théâtre National de Croatie, World Theatre Festival Zagreb / Festival d’Athènes et d’Epidaure / Emilia Romagna Teatro Fondazione.

Concept, text and realisation: Anne-Cécile Vandalem
Music Direction: Vincent Cahay, Pierre Kissling
Set Design: Ruimtevaarders
Sound Design: Jean-Pierre Urbano
Lighting Design: Enrico Bagnoli
Costume Design: Laurence Hermant
Video: Arié van Egmond, Federico D’Ambrosio
Technical Direction: Damien Arrii
Production: Das Fräulein (Kompanie)

With: Vincent Cahay, Anne-Pascale Clairembourg, Epona und Séléné Guillaume, Pierre Kissling, Vincent Lécuyer, Bernard Marbaix, Catherine Mestoussis, Jean-Benoit Ugeux, Anne- Cécile Vandalem, Françoise Vanhecke

Duration: ca. 130 minutes

Tristesses

Konzept, Text und Regie: Anne-Cécile Vandalem (Brüssel/Liège)


Gastspiel im Rahmen von FIND 2017

Im Europa der Gegenwart gewinnen rechtsradikale Parteienrasant an Einfluss. Unter ihnen ist die »Partei des völkischen Erwachens« mit deren Vorsitzender Martha Heiger, die in den skandinavischen Ländern zunehmend die Kontrolle übernimmt. Auf der fiktiven dänischen Insel »Traurigkeiten« leben nur noch acht Bewohner, die alle eine merkwürdige Melancholie verbindet. Eines Tages wird auf der Insel die Leiche von Ida Heiger, der Mutter von Martha, gefunden. Ihr Leichnam ist in eine dänische Flagge gewickelt, und es scheint, als habe sie sich erhängt. Die Parteiführerin Martha Heiger, die kurz davor ist, zur Premierministerin gewählt zu werden, hat großes Interesse daran, dass der Vorfall keine große öffentliche Aufmerksamkeit erregt. Anlässlich der Beerdigung kündigt sie sich auf der Insel an. Zwei junge Mädchen planen, die Politikerin, die ihre Zukunft bedroht, zu töten. Doch am Beerdigungstag kippt die Situation … In »Tristesses « untersucht Anne-Cécile Vandalem, die auch die Rolle der Martha Heiger spielt, die Beziehung zwischen Macht und Emotionalisierung. Die Inszenierung wechselt stetig zwischen Kriminalhandlung und politischer Komödie. Mit einem großen Schauspiel-Ensemble, Live-Video und eigens für die Arbeit komponierter Musik sowie reichlich schwarzem Humor legt Anne-Cécile Vandalem die Emotionalisierung, Hysterisierung und Manipulation gegenwärtiger Politik sowie die fragwürdige Rolle der Medien im politischen Diskurs offen.

>>> Englischsprachiger Essay zum Stück in Pearson's Preview: Creating Distance

Koproduktion: Théâtre de Liège / Le Volcan – Scène Nationale du Havre / Théâtre National – Bruxelles / Théâtre de Namur, centre dramatique / Le Manège.Mons / Bonlieu Scène Nationale Annecy / Maison de la Culture d’Amiens – Centre européen de création et de production / Les Théâtres de Marseille – Aix en Provence. Im Rahmen des europäischen Theaternetzwerks PROSPERO: Théâtre National de Bretagne / Théâtre de Liège / Schaubühne Berlin / Göteborgs Stadsteatern / Théâtre National de Croatie, World Theatre Festival Zagreb / Festival d’Athènes et d’Epidaure / Emilia Romagna Teatro Fondazione.

Konzept, Text und Regie: Anne-Cécile Vandalem
Musik: Vincent Cahay, Pierre Kissling
Bühne: Ruimtevaarders
Sounddesign: Jean-Pierre Urbano
Licht: Enrico Bagnoli
Kostüme: Laurence Hermant
Video: Arié van Egmond, Federico D’Ambrosio
Technische Leitung: Damien Arrii
Produktion: Das Fräulein (Kompanie)

Mit: Vincent Cahay, Anne-Pascale Clairembourg, Epona und Séléné Guillaume, Pierre Kissling, Vincent Lécuyer, Bernard Marbaix, Catherine Mestoussis, Jean-Benoit Ugeux, Anne- Cécile Vandalem, Françoise Vanhecke

Dauer: ca. 130 Minuten