Herbert Fritsch

Born in Augsburg in 1951. He studied acting at the Otto Falckenberg School of the Performing Arts in Munich. Engagements at the Münchner Kammerspiele, Residenztheater München, Hessisches Staatstheater Wiesbaden, Theater Basel, Staatstheater Stuttgart, Düsseldorfer Schauspielhaus, Schauspielhaus Hamburg, Schauspielhaus Bochum and Komische Oper Berlin. He worked with directors such as David Mouchtar-Samorai, Werner Schroeter, Sebastian Baumgarten, Dimiter Gotscheff, Thomas Bischoff, Robert Wilson und Franz Xaver Kroetz. From 1993–2007 member of the ensemble of the Volksbühne am Rosa-Luxemburg-Platz and close collaboration with Frank Castorf, among others in »Clockwork Orange« by Anthony Burgess (1993), »The Lady from the Sea« by Henrik Ibsen (1993), »Pension Schöller: The Battle« after Carl Laufs, Wilhelm Jacoby and Heiner Müller (1994), »The Danton Case« by Stanislawa Przybyszewska (1994), »The Nibelungs – Born Bad« after Friedrich Hebbel (1995), »Terrordrom« by Tim Staffel (1998), »Demons« (1999) and »The Idiot« (2002) by Fjodor M. Dostojewskij, »Atomised« by Michel Houellebecq (2000), »My Snow Queen« after Hans Christian Andersen (2004), »Berlin Alexanderplatz« by Alfred Döblin (2005) at the Palace of the Republic and »In the Jungle of Cities« by Bertolt Brecht (2005).
Since 2007 freelance director and stage designer at various German theatres such as Münchner Kammerspiele, Residenztheater München, Hessisches Saatstheater Wiesbaden, Theater Bremen, Neues Theater Halle, Schauspielhaus Köln, Schauspielhaus Hamburg, Komische Oper Berlin, Staatstheater Stuttgart, Theater Basel and the Schauspielhaus and Opernhaus Zürich. Repeated invitations as director and stage designer to the Berliner Theatertreffen with »A Doll’s House« by Henrik Ibsen (Theater Oberhausen, 2011) and »The Beaver Coat« by Gerhart Hauptmann (Mecklenburgisches Staatstheater Schwerin, 2011), since 2012 invitations of his productions at the Volksbühne am Rosa-Luxemburg-Platz such as »The Spanish Fly« by Franz Arnold and Ernst Bach (2012), »Murmel Murmel« after Dieter Roth (2013), »Ohne Titel Nr. 1 – eine Oper von Herbert Fritsch« (2014), »der die mann« after Konrad Bayer (2016) and »Pfusch« by Herbert Fritsch (2017).
Since 1983 director for film and television, since 2000 various works as director for the intermedia art project hamlet_X, in which he also works as a media artist, author, performer, photographer and draftsman. Production of various short films and a feature film (»Elf Onkel«, Direction: Herbert Fritsch, 2010) as well as installations with the production company hamlet_X GbR, founded by Herbert Fritsch. He worked on audio books and appeared in several film productions, among others in »Import Export« (Direction: Ulrich Seidl, 2007) and »Das Fremde in mir« (Direction: Emily Atef, 2008) and in TV productions such as »Tatort – Tot bist Du!« (Direction: Diethard Küster, 2001), »Berlin – Eine Stadt sucht den Mörder« (Direction: Urs Egger, 2003) or »Schlaflos« (Direction: Isabel Kleefeld, 2009).
In 2009 winner of the Gordana Kosanović-Schauspielerpreis in Mülheim an der Ruhr as well as of the Oberhausener Theaterpreis for his theatre productions »Tartuffe« by Molière (Theater Oberhausen, 2008) and »Loot« by Joe Orton (Theater Oberhausen, 2009). In 2012 he was elected Stage Designer of the Year by the magazine Theater heute for »The Spanish Fly« and in 2013 for »Murmel Murmel«, both at the Volksbühne am Rosa-Luxemburg-Platz. He was awarded the 3sat-Preis for »der die mann« (Volksbühne am Rosa-Luxemburg-Platz, 2015) in 2016 and winner of the Theaterpreis Berlin in 2017.

Schaubühne

Zeppelin freely after Ödön von Horváth, Direction: Herbert Fritsch (2017)
der die mann after texts by Konrad Bayer, Direction and Set Design: Herbert Fritsch (Takeover of the Volksbühne am Rosa-Luxemburg-Platz, 2018)
NULL by Herbert Fritsch (2018)
Champignol inspite of himself by Georges Feydeau (2018)
Amphitryon by Molière (2019)

In this season

Amphitryon

by Molière
Direction and Set Design: Herbert Fritsch

Champignol in Spite of Himself

by Georges Feydeau
Direction and Set Design: Herbert Fritsch

der die mann

after texts by Konrad Bayer
Direction and Set Design: Herbert Fritsch

NULL

by Herbert Fritsch
Direction and Set Design: Herbert Fritsch
World Premiere

Zeppelin

freely after Ödön von Horváth
Direction and Set Design: Herbert Fritsch

Herbert Fritsch

In dieser Spielzeit
»Zeppelin«

Geboren 1951 in Augsburg. Schauspielstudium an der Otto-Falckenberg-Schule in München. Engagements u. a. an den Münchner Kammerspielen, dem Residenztheater München, Hessisches Staatstheater Wiesbaden, Theater Basel, Staatstheater Stuttgart, Düsseldorfer Schauspielhaus, Schauspielhaus Hamburg, Schauspielhaus Bochum und der Komischen Oper Berlin. Zusammenarbeit mit Regisseuren wie David Mouchtar-Samorai, Werner Schroeter, Sebastian Baumgarten, Dimiter Gotscheff, Thomas Bischoff, Robert Wilson und Franz Xaver Kroetz. Von 1993–2007 Ensemblemitglied der Volksbühne am Rosa-Luxemburg-Platz in enger Zusammenarbeit mit Frank Castorf, u. a. in »Clockwork Orange« von Anthony Burgess (1993), »Die Frau vom Meer« von Henrik Ibsen (1993), »Pension Schöller: Die Schlacht« nach Carl Laufs, Wilhelm Jacoby und Heiner Müller (1994), »Die Sache Danton« von Stanislawa Przybyszewska (1994), »Die Nibelungen – Born Bad« von Friedrich Hebbel (1995), »Terrordrom« von Tim Staffel (1998), »Dämonen« (1999) und »Der Idiot« (2002) von Fjodor M. Dostojewskij, »Elementarteilchen« von Michel Houellebecq (2000), »Meine Schneekönigin« nach Hans Christian Andersen (2004), »Berlin Alexanderplatz« von Alfred Döblin (2005) im Palast der Republik und »Im Dickicht der Städte« von Bertolt Brecht (2005).
Seit 2007 freier Regisseur und Bühnenbildner an verschiedenen deutschsprachigen Bühnen, etwa an den Münchner Kammerspielen, dem Residenztheater München, Hessisches Staatstheater Wiesbaden, Theater Bremen, Neues Theater Halle, Schauspielhaus Köln, Schauspielhaus Hamburg, Komische Oper Berlin, Staatstheater Stuttgart, Theater Basel und dem Schauspiel- und Opernhaus Zürich. Als Regisseur und Bühnenbildner regelmäßige Einladungen zum Berliner Theatertreffen: 2011 mit »Nora oder Ein Puppenheim« von Henrik Ibsen (Theater Oberhausen) und »Der Biberpelz« von Gerhart Hauptmann (Mecklenburgisches Staatstheater Schwerin), seit 2012 mit Inszenierungen an der Volksbühne am Rosa-Luxemburg-Platz, etwa »Die (s)panische Fliege« von Franz Arnold und Ernst Bach 2012), »Murmel Murmel« nach Dieter Roth (2013), »Ohne Titel Nr. 1 – eine Oper von Herbert Fritsch« (2014), »der die mann« nach Konrad Bayer (2016) und »Pfusch« von Herbert Fritsch (2017).
Seit 1983 Film- und Fernsehregisseur, seit 2000 auch im intermedialen Kunstprojekt hamlet_X, in dem er ferner als Medienkünstler, Autor, Performer, Fotograf und Zeichner tätig ist. Entstehung zahlreicher Kurzfilme, eines Spielfilms (»Elf Onkel«, Regie: Herbert Fritsch, 2010) sowie verschiedener Auftragsfilme und Installationen mit der von Fritsch gegründeten Produktionsfirma hamlet_X GbR. Darüber hinaus zahlreiche Arbeiten in Hörspielproduktionen und zu sehen in Kinofilmen wie »Import Export« (Regie: Ulrich Seidl, 2007) und »Das Fremde in mir« (Regie: Emily Atef, 2008) sowie in Fernsehproduktionen wie »Tatort – Tot bist Du!« (Regie: Diethard Küster, 2001), »Berlin – Eine Stadt sucht den Mörder« (Regie: Urs Egger, 2003) oder »Schlaflos« (Regie: Isabel Kleefeld, 2009).
2009 Gordana Kosanović-Schauspielerpreis in Mülheim an der Ruhr sowie Oberhausener Theaterpreis für seine Inszenierungen von »Tartuffe« von Molière (2008) und »Beute« von Joe Orton (2009) am Theater Oberhausen. 2012 für »Die (s)panische Fliege« und 2013 für »Murmel Murmel« von der Zeitschrift »Theater heute« zum Bühnenbildner des Jahres gewählt. 2016 3sat-Preis für »der die mann« (2015). 2017 Gewinner des Theaterpreises Berlin.

Schaubühne

Zeppelin frei nach Texten von Ödön von Horváth, Regie: Herbert Fritsch (2017)

In dieser Spielzeit

Zeppelin

frei nach Texten von Ödön von Horváth
Regie und Bühne: Herbert Fritsch