33 RPM and a few Seconds

Guest Production from the Lebanon
by Rabih Mroué and Lina Saneh


Diyaa Yamout, a young, leftwing activist from Lebanon, kills himself. He explains in his suicide note that the reasons for his act are purely personal, not political. Following his death a discussion arises in which the ideological trenches, socio- political schisms and hopes of an entire society become apparent. In their semi-documentary performance, Rabih Mroué and Lina Saneh reconstruct the final moments in Yamout’s life and expose the problems of a deeply divided country in which the Arab Spring remains wholly ineffective. Can an act of desperation, whether politically motivated or otherwise, rekindle the hope for change? Yamout is dead but everything else lives on: in the bedroom, the TV is still playing, the answerphone, the computer ... Time stands still and begins anew; a story is being assembled from fragments of communication.

>>> Article about 33 RPM on our festival blog

Co-production: Ashkal Alwan, the lebanese association for plastic arts (Beirut), Festival d’Avignon, Festival delle Colline Torinesi, Kampnagel, Kunstenfestivaldesarts, La Bâtie Festival de Genève, Malta Festival, Scène nationale de Petit-Quevilly Mont-Saint-Aignan, Stage-Helsinki Theatre Festival & Théâtre de l’Agora Scène Nationale d’Evry et de l’Essonne steirischer herbst.

Direction: Rabih Mroué, Lina Saneh
Set Design, Graphic Design and Animation: Samar Maakaroun
Technical Production and Programming: Sarmad Louis, Thomas Köppel

Cast: Nagham Abboud, Samir Abou Jaoudé, Thomas Bowles, Edy Gemaa, Raseel Hadjian, Colette Hajj, Wadad Hneine, Paul Khodr, Ibtisam Kishly, Eliane Mallat, Muriel Moukawem, Elie Njeim, Antoine Ozon, Najeeb Zeytouni

Duration: ca. 60 minutes

33 RPM and a few Seconds

Gastspiel aus dem Libanon
von Rabih Mroué und Lina Saneh


Diyaa Yamout, ein junger, linker, libanesischer Aktivist, begeht Selbstmord und erklärt in einem Abschiedsbrief, seine Gründe für die Tat seien rein persönlich – nicht politisch. Nach seinem Tod entsteht eine Diskussion, bei der die ideologischen Gräben, politisch-sozialen Spaltungen und Hoffnungen einer ganzen Gesellschaft deutlich werden. In ihrer halbdokumentarischen Performance rekonstruieren Rabih Mroué und Lina Saneh die letzten Momente im Leben von Yamout und entlarven die Probleme eines zutiefst gespaltenen Landes, in dem der Arabische Frühling folgenlos geblieben ist. Kann eine Verzweiflungstat, ganz gleich ob sie politisch motiviert war oder nicht, die Hoffnung auf Veränderung wieder zum Leben erwecken? Yamout ist tot, aber alles lebt weiter, im Schlafzimmer laufen der Fernseher, der Anrufbeantworter, der Computer ... Die Zeit steht still und beginnt wieder neu; eine Geschichte setzt sich aus Kommunikationsfragmenten zusammen.

>>> Englischsprachiger Artikel über 33 RPM auf unserem Festival-Blog

Koproduktion: Ashkal Alwan, the lebanese association for plastic arts (Beirut), Festival d’Avignon, Festival delle Colline Torinesi, Kampnagel, Kunstenfestivaldesarts, La Bâtie Festival de Genève, Malta Festival, Scène nationale de Petit-Quevilly Mont-Saint-Aignan, Stage-Helsinki Theatre Festival & Théâtre de l’Agora Scène Nationale d’Evry et de l’Essonne steirischer herbst.

Regie: Rabih Mroué, Lina Saneh
Bühne, Grafik und Animation: Samar Maakaroun
Technische Produktion und Programmierung: Sarmad Louis, Thomas Köppel

Mit: Nagham Abboud, Samir Abou Jaoudé, Thomas Bowles, Edy Gemaa, Raseel Hadjian, Colette Hajj, Wadad Hneine, Paul Khodr, Ibtisam Kishly, Eliane Mallat, Muriel Moukawem, Elie Njeim, Antoine Ozon, Najeeb Zeytouni

Dauer: ca. 60 Minuten