Amazon Beaming: Work in Progress

Complicite
inspired by the book »Amazon Beaming« by Petru Popescu
Performance and Direction: Simon McBurney


F.I.N.D. #15
Co-production with Complicite (Great Britain)

For three performances only, Complicite brings the first fragments of a new performance to Berlin.
Inspired by the novel »Amazon Beaming« by Petru Popescu and using the text as a springboard from which to explore ideas as wide-ranging as human consciousness and climate change, this presentation will be a series of experiments with theatrical form and audio technologies. Performed by Complicite's director Simon McBurney, the piece leads its audience through a set of encounters with nature, time and human consciousness. Interwoven around the story of one man's extraordinary experience with the remote people of the Javari valley, it uses binaural technology to create an intimate and shifting world of sound.
Please note this is a work-in-progress presentation of a new work. Audiences will be required to wear headphones (that will be provided).

Simon McBurney is an actor, writer, director and co-founder of Complicite. He has created and acted in more than 30 productions for the company. Recent work includes »The Magic Flute« (2013) and »A Dog’s Heart« (2010) for De Nederlandse Opera, and for Complicite »The Master and Margarita« (2011), »A Disappearing Number« (2007) and »Shunkin« (2008) for which he was awarded the Yomuri Theatre Award Grand Prize for Best Directorin 2009. Appearances in films such as »Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy« (2011), »Magic in the Moonlight« (2014) and »The Theory of everything« (2014). He was the recipient of the 2008 Berlin Academy of Arts Konrad Wolf Prize for outstanding multi-disciplinary artists and was the first British Artiste Associé at Festival d’Avignon in 2012.

Since it was founded in 1983, Complicite has toured the world and helped to shape the landscape of modern drama. From being smuggled into a shanty town in Chile to perform in 1984, to being broadcast live into cinemas across the globe, Complicite has continued to experiment and collaborate – working with the Barbican, the National Theatre, Setagaya Public Theatre in Tokyo, the Los Angeles Philharmonic orchestra, De Nederlandse Opera, and the Pet Shop Boys, amongst others. Complicite has won more than 50 major global theatre awards. 

Trailer

Performance and Direction: Simon McBurney
Sound Design: Gareth Fry

 

Trailer

«  August  »

Mo Di Mi Do Fr Sa So

1

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16 17 18
19 20 21 22 23 24 25
26

27

28

29 30 31  

Amazon Beaming: Work in Progress

Complicite
inspiriert von dem Roman »Amazon Beaming« von Petru Popescu
Performance und Regie: Simon McBurney


F.I.N.D. #15
Koproduktion mit Complicite (Großbritannien)

Die neue Produktion der legendären britischen Theatergruppe Complicite führt das Publikum auf eine Reise, die das menschliche Bewusstsein und unsere Wahrnehmung von Realität, Natur und Zeit erforscht. Ausgehend von Petru Popescus Roman »Amazon Beaming«, der von dem außergewöhnlichen Treffen eines Mannes mit einem verborgenen Menschenstamm im Javari-Tal im Amazonas erzählt, nutzt die Inszenierung neuartige Audio-Technologien, um eine intime und sich ständig verändernde Klangwelt zu erschaffen. Das Solo, inszeniert und gespielt von Simon McBurney, dem künstlerischen Leiter von Complicite, ist eine work-in-progress-Präsentation, die das Publikum über Kopfhörer erlebt.

Simon  McBurney ist Theaterregisseur, Autor, Schauspieler und Gründungsmitglied von Complicite. Zu seinen Regiearbeiten gehören u. a. »Die Zauberflöte« (2013) und »A Dog’s Heart« (2010) an der Niederländischen Oper sowie »The Master and Margarita« (2011), »A Disappearing Number« (2007) und »Shun-Kin« (2008), für die er 2009 den Yomuri Theatre Award Grand Prize für die beste Regie bekam. Als Schauspieler wirkte er u. a. in den Filmen »Dame, König, As, Spion« (2011), »Magic in the Moonlight« (2014) und »Die Entdeckung der Unendlichkeit« (2014) mit. 2008 bekam er für seine herausragenden interdisziplinären Arbeiten den Konrad Wolf Preis der Akademie der Künste und war 2012 der erste britische Artiste Associé des Festival d’Avignon.

Seit ihrer Gründung 1983 tourt die Kompanie Complicite weltweit und prägt die Ästhetik des modernen Theaters. Angefangen 1984 in den Armenvierteln Chiles bis hin zur weltweiten Übertragung in Kinos, experimentieren und kollaborieren Complicite mit Theatern wie dem Barbican, dem National Theatre London, Setagaya Public Theatre Tokyo, Los Angeles Philharmonic Orchestra, De Nederlandse Opera sowie Künstlern wie den Pet Shop Boys. Complicite wurde mit über 50 Theaterpreisen weltweit ausgezeichnet.

Trailer

Performance und Regie: Simon McBurney
Sound Design: Gareth Fry

«  August  »

Mo Di Mi Do Fr Sa So

1

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16 17 18
19 20 21 22 23 24 25
26

27

28

29 30 31  
 

Trailer