Chekhov’s First Play

by Dead Centre (Ireland)
Direction: Ben Kidd, Bush Moukarzel


Guest performance during FIND 2016

Already acclaimed by critics and audiences in Great Britain, the young Irish company Dead Centre is now being discovered by international theatres. In »Chekhov’s First Play«, directing duo Bush Moukarzel and Ben Kidd relate the absurdity of the world and of all existence using as a backdrop the play »Platonov«, the early work by Checkhov which is considered to be unstageable. Less of an adaptation than an ambush, the production gradually dissolves the play’s form and content. »Look at how rubbish and boring your lives are!« Summer in the Russian provinces. Just like every year, people gather at the country estate of a general’s young widow, Anna Petrovna, abandoning themselves to total inertia. No one suffers it as desperately as Platonov, the village schoolmaster. Whereas in Chekhov’s play he is given to making expansive speeches and philosophising, in Dead Centre’s version he doesn’t utter a single word. He is the black hole around which all the others revolve. For a long time he doesn’t even show up. Only in the middle of the play, as the historical scenery is literally torn in two, he appears, mute and serving as a screen onto which desires and hopes are projected – not only by the characters around him but also, above all, by the performers.

Dead Centre
Founded by Bush Moukarzel and Ben Kidd in Dublin in 2012. Their first project »Souvenir« was created for the Dublin Fringe in 2012. Guest performances at The Yard in London in April 2013 and in New York in November 2013. The second project »(S) quark!« was presented once on Bloomsday in Dublin and then toured in July 2013 to Russia. »LIPPY« premiered in September 2013 in Dublin. Until now, the play travelled to New York, Edinburgh, Glasgow and the Young Vic in London. Their most recent play »Chekov’s first play« premiered in October 2015.

>>> Essay about the production in Pearson's Preview: Unfinished Plays for Unfinished People: Dead Centre in Berlin

Trailer

Duration: ca. 70 minutes


Co-commissioned by Battersea Arts Centre and Irish Arts Center, New York. Co-production: Dublin Theatre Festival, Baltoscandal (Rakvere) and Le Théâtre National de Bordeaux en Aquitaine. Project co-produced by NXTSTP, with the support of the Culture Programme of the European Union. This tour is made possible by the support of Culture Ireland.

 

Trailer

MenüMenü    English

«  August  »

Mo Di Mi Do Fr Sa So

1

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

24

25

26

27

28

29

30

31

     

Chekhov’s First Play

von Dead Centre (Irland)
Regie: Ben Kidd, Bush Moukarzel


Gastspiel im Rahmen von FIND 2016

In Großbritannien bereits von Publikum und Presse gefeiert, ist die junge irische Gruppe Dead Centre für die internationalen Theaterbühnen noch zu entdecken. Mit »Chekhov’s First Play« erzählt das Regie-Duo Bush Moukarzel und Ben Kidd auf der Folie von »Platonow«, Tschechows als unspielbar geltendem Jugendwerk, von der Absurdität der Welt und allen Seins. Weniger eine Adaption als ein Angriff aus dem Hinterhalt, löst die Inszenierung sukzessive Form und Inhalt des Stückes auf. »Schaut, wie schlecht und langweilig ihr lebt!« Es ist Sommer in der russischen Provinz. Wie jedes Jahr trifft man sich auf dem Landgut der jungen Generalswitwe Anna Petrowna und gibt sich der absoluten Trägheit hin. Niemand leidet daran so verzweifelt wie Platonow, der Dorflehrer. Bei Tschechow ausufernd redend und philosophierend, spricht er bei Dead Centre kein einziges Wort. Er ist das schwarze Loch, um das die anderen kreisen. Lange tritt er gar nicht auf. Erst in der Mitte des Stücks, als die historische Bühnenkulisse buchstäblich einreißt, erscheint er, schweigend und ganz Projektionsfläche der Sehnsüchte und Hoffnungen – nicht nur der ihn umgebenden Figuren, sondern auch und vor allem der Performer_innen.

Dead Centre
Gegründet 2012 von Bush Moukarzel und Ben Kidd in Dublin. Ihr erstes Projekt »Souvenir« wurde für das Dublin Fringe 2012 kreiert. Gastspiele am The Yard in London im April 2013 und in New York im November 2013. Das zweite Projekt »(S)quark!« fand einmalig am Bloomsday in Dublin statt und reiste anschließend im Juli 2013 nach Russland. »LIPPY« feierte im September 2013 in Dublin Premiere. Bisher reiste das Stück nach New York, Edinburgh, Glasgow und ans Young Vic in London. Im Oktober 2015 fand in Dublin die Premiere von »Chekov’s First Play« statt.

>>> Englischsprachiger Essay zum Stück in Pearson's Preview: Unfinished Plays for Unfinished People: Dead Centre in Berlin

Regie: Ben Kidd, Bush Moukarzel
Bühne: Andrew Clancy
Ausstattung und Bühneneffekte: Grace O’Hara
Kostüme: Saileóg O’Halloran
Sound Design: Jimmy Eadie
Co-Sound Design: Kevin Gleeson
Licht: Stephen Dodd

Mit: Liam Carney, Breffni Holahan, Rory Nolan, Rebecca O’Mara, Annie Ryan, Dylan Tighe

Dauer: ca. 70 Minuten


In Auftrag gegeben von Battersea Arts Centre und Irish Arts Center, New York. In Koproduktion mit dem Dublin Theatre Festival, Baltoscandal (Rakvere) und Le Théâtre National de Bordeaux en Aquitaine. Das Projekt wurde koproduziert von NXTSTP, mit Unterstützung der Kulturförderung der Europäischen Union. Die Tour wird ermöglicht durch die Unterstützung von Culture Ireland.



«  August  »

Mo Di Mi Do Fr Sa So

1

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

24

25

26

27

28

29

30

31

     
 

Trailer