«  August  »

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun

1

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

24

25

26

27

28

29

30

31

           

don’t forget to die

by Karen Breece and Ensemble
Concept and Direction: Karen Breece (Munich)


Guest performance during FIND 2018

Nobody wants to die. Neither young nor old. If anything is certain in life, it is death. We should not neglect to prepare for this final ending because without death life would barely have meaning. But when will it come? What follows it? And how does one pursue a fulfilled life up to that point? Five people between the ages of 74 and 94 search for possibilities to come to terms with their own deaths. On a theatre stage. Somewhere between performance, drama and biographical narration, they talk about their personal fears, wishes and hopes, sing songs from their youth and play out contrasting variations of dying. But can you rehearse your own death in the same way that people plan their own funerals? Director Karen Breece spent over a year talking to old people about dying and, out of these conversations, developed a text which is located somewhere between memory and hope, reality and fiction. In »don’t forget to die« actor Ursula Werner and four of her contemporaries explore the funny and tragic sides of life and death.

Karen Breece works as a freelance director. She writes and directs plays developed out of an intensive period of research and personal conversations. Following projects which engaged intensively with German history, she now concentrates on discourses and issues of interculturality and identity against the backdrop of a Europe in a period of transition. In 2015 she directed the »Welcome to Paradise« theatre project, a co-production with the Münchner Volkstheater about current asylum politics. Her current production »Oradour «, a coproduction with the Münchner Kammerspiele, takes the SS-massacre at Oradour as a starting point to explore the difficulty of remembering and the impossibility of forgetting.

Set Design: Eva Veronica Born

Costume Design: Teresa Vergho

Video: Sophie Averkamp

Music: Mathis Mayr/Pain Perdu, Livia Hofmann-Buoni, Christof Ranke

Sound: Florian Westermeier

Dramaturgy: Tobias Staab

Lighting Design: Max Kraußmüller

Light and Video Technician: Diana Dorn

 

With: Livia Hofmann-Buoni, Rosemarie Leidenfrost, Uta Maaß, Christof Ranke, Ursula Werner

Duration: ca. 105 minutes


Trailer

 

In cooperation with Evangelische Stadtakademie München, AETAS Lebens- und Trauerkultur GmbH & Co. KG, Hospizdienst DaSein e.V., HochX Theater und Live Art. Supported by the City of Munich – Department of Arts and Culture and by the Bezirk Oberbayern.

«  August  »

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun

1

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

24

25

26

27

28

29

30

31

don’t forget to die

von Karen Breece und Ensemble
Konzept und Regie: Karen Breece (München)


Gastspiel im Rahmen von FIND 2018

Keiner will sterben. Weder jung, noch alt. Wenn etwas im Leben gewiss ist, dann der Tod. Man sollte nicht vergessen, sich auch auf dieses letzte Ende vorzubereiten, denn ohne den Tod hätte das Leben kaum einen Sinn. Aber wann wird er kommen? Was kommt danach? Und wie lebt man bis dahin ein erfülltes Leben? Fünf Menschen im Alter von 74 bis 94 Jahren suchen nach Möglichkeiten, sich mit dem eigenen Tod auseinanderzusetzen. Auf einer Theaterbühne. Zwischen Performance, Schauspiel und biografischer Erzählung sprechen sie über ihre persönlichen Ängste, Wünsche und Hoffnungen, singen Lieder ihrer Zeit und spielen unterschiedliche Varianten des Sterbens durch. Aber kann man den eigenen Tod proben, so wie man die eigene Beerdigung plant? Die Regisseurin Karen Breece hat über ein Jahr hinweg Gespräche mit alten Menschen über das Sterben geführt und daraus einen Text entwickelt, der sich im Grenzbereich von Erinnerung und Hoffnung, Realität und Fiktion bewegt. In »don’t forget to die« erforscht die Schauspielerin Ursula Werner gemeinsam mit vier Altersgenossen die komischen und traurigen Seiten des Lebens und des Sterbens.

Karen Breece arbeitet als freie Regisseurin. Sie schreibt und inszeniert Stücke, die sie auf der Basis intensiver Recherchearbeit und persönlicher Gespräche entwickelt. Neben Projekten, die sich intensiv mit der deutschen Geschichte beschäftigen, konzentriert sie sich auf Diskurse und Fragestellungen der Interkulturalität und Identität vor dem Hintergrund eines sich im Wandel befindlichen Europas. In Koproduktion mit dem Münchner Volkstheater inszenierte sie 2015 »Welcome to Paradise«, ein Theaterprojekt zur aktuellen Asylpolitik. Ihre aktuellste Produktion »Oradour«, eine Koproduktion mit den Münchner Kammerspielen, beschäftigt sich vor dem Hintergrund des SS-Massakers von Oradour mit den Schwierigkeiten des Erinnerns und der Unmöglichkeit des Vergessens.

Bühne: Eva Veronica Born

Kostüme: Teresa Vergho

Video: Sophie Averkamp

Musik: Mathis Mayr/Pain Perdu, Livia Hofmann-Buoni, Christof Ranke

Ton: Florian Westermeier

Dramaturgie: Tobias Staab

Licht: Max Kraußmüller

Licht- und Videotechnik: Diana Dorn

 

Mit: Livia Hofmann-Buoni, Rosemarie Leidenfrost, Uta Maaß, Christof Ranke, Ursula Werner

Dauer: ca. 105 Minuten


Trailer

 

In Kooperation mit der Evangelischen Stadtakademie München, AETAS Lebens- und Trauerkultur GmbH & Co. KG, Hospizdienst DaSein e.V., HochX Theater und Live Art. Gefördert durch das Kulturreferat der Landeshauptstadt München und den Bezirk Oberbayern.