«  August  »

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun

1

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

24

25

26

27

28

29

30

31

           

Evel Knievel contra Macbeth na terra do finado Humberto

by Rodrigo García
Direction and Set Design: Rodrigo García (Montpellier/Ligüeria/Marseille)


Guest performance during FIND 2018

Rodrigo García breathes new life into the Shakespearean usurper Macbeth and the tragedy of the impossibility to forget his own crimes and the prophecies of fate by relocating him to north-eastern Brazil. Here, he appears in the guise of Orson Welles who, immersed in his film role of Macbeth, has forgotten his real existence and now, in the company of the Greek rhetoricians Demosthenes and Lysias, is trying to obliterate the traces of his own origins. But he has failed to reckon with the stuntman Evel Knievel and the Japanese Manga dragon Neronga, as well as a manga-like gang of dwarf undertakers in a fleet of Mini Cooper hearses personally designed by Philippe Starck. This all is performed in three languages by two actors and a young xylophone virtuoso. Or, as it says in the play itself: »The epic plays out in a space of no more than 150 metres, the distance separating Dinah’s acarajé kiosk from Cira’s acarajé kiosk in the Rio Vermelho neighbourhood of Salvador de Bahia. To shortly summarise – because we all have a lot to do and it’s already past eight – it’s about a war longer and bloodier than Brazil’s war of independence, involving Ultraman and Neronga who have flown economy from Tokyo to Salvador and have spent the entire time groping the flight attendants’ arses and drinking the bar dry. They are now called upon to fight on the side of American motorbike stuntman Evel Knievel because he is pessimistic about his ability to single-handedly free the people of Bahia from the tyranny of Orson Welles who, in the guise of Macbeth, has brought the region under his control and, besides, has had the brilliant idea of reintroducing slavery. In short, he’s gone totally bonkers«.

Rodrigo García (*1964, Buenos Aires) is an Argentinian- Spanish director and playwright. In 2011 García produced the monologue »I‹d rather Goya robbed me of sleep than some arsehole« at the Schaubühne. He was the artistic director of the CDN de Montpellier from 2014–18.

Direction and Set Design: Rodrigo García

With: Núria Lloansi, Inge Van Bruystegem, Gabriel Ferreira Caldas

Duration: ca. 90 minutes


Trailer

 

 

Production: Humain trop humain, CDN de Montpellier, Rodrigo García, Boucherie Théâtre, Co-production: Bonlieu Scène nationale (Annecy), Teatro Nacional Cervantes de Buenos Aires, Teatros del Canal (Madrid).

 

With kind support of the Institut français and the French Ministry of Culture / DGCA.

    

«  August  »

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun

1

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

24

25

26

27

28

29

30

31

Evel Knievel contra Macbeth na terra do finado Humberto

von Rodrigo García
Regie und Bühne: Rodrigo García (Montpellier/Ligüeria/Marseille)


Gastspiel im Rahmen von FIND 2018

Rodrigo García haucht dem shakespeareschen Usurpator Macbeth und dessen Tragödie der Unmöglichkeit, die eigenen Verbrechen und die Prophezeiungen des Schicksals aus dem Gedächtnis zu löschen, ein neues Leben im Nordosten Brasiliens ein. Hier tritt er in Gestalt von Orson Welles auf, der über seine Macbeth-Filmrolle seine reale Existenz vergessen hat und nun, gemeinsam mit den griechischen Rhetoren Demosthenes und Lysias, die Spuren der eigenen Herkunft zu verwischen sucht. Doch dabei hat er die Rechnung ohne den Stuntman Evel Knievel und den japanischen Manga-Drachen Neronga gemacht, und ebenso ohne eine mafiöse Zwergen-Bestatterbande in einer von Philippe Starck persönlich designten Mini-Cooper-Leichenwagen-Flotte. Das alles dargestellt in drei Sprachen von zwei Schauspielerinnen und einem jugendlichen Xylophon-Virtuosen. Oder, wie es im Stücktext heißt: »Das Epos spielt auf gerade mal 150 Metern. Dem Abstand, der den Acarajé-Kiosk von Dinha vom Acarajé-Kiosk von Cira im Viertel Rio Vermelho in Salvador de Bahia trennt. Um die Sache rasch zusammenzufassen – denn alle haben zu tun und es ist schon nach acht – geht es um einen längeren und blutigeren Krieg als den brasilianischen Unabhängigkeitskrieg, um Ultraman und Neronga, die die Strecke Tokio-Salvador in der Economy Class geflogen sind und die Zeit damit verbrachten, den Stewardessen an den Arsch zu grapschen und die Bar leerzusaufen und nun dazu berufen sind, an der Seite des amerikanischen Motorrad-Akrobaten Evel Knievel zu kämpfen, weil der schwarz sieht, alleine das bahianische Volk gegen die Tyrannei von Orson Welles befreien zu können, der, verkleidet als Macbeth, die Region unter seine Kontrolle gebracht hat und zudem die brillante Idee hatte, die Sklaverei wiedereinzuführen. Kurz, ein Durchgeknallter.«

Rodrigo García (*1964, Buenos Aires) ist ein argentinisch-spanischer Regisseur und Autor. 2011 inszenierte er an der Schaubühne den Monolog »Soll mir lieber Goya den Schlaf rauben als irgendein Arschloch«. Von 2014–18 war García der künstlerische Leiter des CDN de Montpellier.

Regie und Bühne: Rodrigo García

Mit: Núria Lloansi, Inge Van Bruystegem, Gabriel Ferreira Caldas

Dauer: ca. 90 Minuten


Trailer

 

 

Produktion: Humain trop humain, CDN de Montpellier, Rodrigo García, Boucherie Théâtre, Koproduktion: Bonlieu Scène nationale (Annecy), Teatro Nacional Cervantes de Buenos Aires, Teatros del Canal (Madrid).

 

Mit freundlicher Unterstützung des Institut français und des französischen Ministeriums für Kultur / DGCA.