«  June  »

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun

1

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

24

25

26

27

28

29

30

         

Outside

(Moscow)
by Kirill Serebrennikov
Direction: Kirill Serebrennikov


Guest Performance during FIND 2020

»Life is a lie.Truth is a lie. When I take a photo, I am naked …« Ren Hang

Chinese photographer Ren Hang photographed cityscapes, nature and, above all, the naked bodies of young men and women in his Beijing flat. Hang’s photos depict a new Chinese generation in all its rebellious will to live and nonconformist beauty — in sharp contrast to the image of youth prescribed by the state. His less-well-known poems are darker and broach the topics of sex, loneliness, depression, love and death. Ren Hang’s art fascinated director Kirill Serebrennikov and the two were planning a collaboration together. Just 48 hours before they had arranged to meet, the 29-year-old Ren Hang took his own life in Beijing. Shocked by the loss, Serebrennikov decided to create a memorial to Hang and, in this production, to mirror his own experiences in the life and work of Ren Hang. Only a few months later, Serebrennikov himself becomes a victim of political repression in Russia: accused of tax fraud, he is confined to several years of house arrest that has only just been lifted. Written and directed by Serebrennikov in the prison of his own flat, premiered at the 2019 Festival d’Avignon in the absence of the director, »Outside« is also the product of a dramatically curtailed encounter between two artists. In their biographies and works, both have vehemently defended topics such as identity, sexuality, beauty and the place of the individual in a totalitarian system — with humour, poetry and an unbroken desire for freedom.

Kirill Serebrennikov (*1969, Rostov-on-Don) first studied natural sciences before switching to theatre in 1992. He has staged numerous classic and contemporary texts in Moscow as well as operas at the Bolshoi Theatre and in many European cities and directed several feature films. He has been director of the Gogol Centre in Moscow since 2012. Following »Otmorozki« (2011) and »The Idiots« (2014), »Outside« is his third work to be presented at FIND.

Choreography: Evgeny Kulagin, Ivan Estegneev
Music Composition: Ilya Demutsky 

With: Odin Lund Biron, Yang Ge, Georgy Kudrenko, Nikita Kukushkin, Julia Loboda, Andrey Petrushenkov, Evgeny Romantsov, Anastasia Radkova, Evgeny Sangadzhiev, Igor Sharoyko as well as Alexey Bychkov, Daniil Orlov, Andrey Polyakov (Musicians)

>>> Essay about the production in Pearson's Preview: Two Abesent Artists at the Schaubühne. Kirill Serebrennikov’s »Outside«

Trailer



Duration: ca. 105 minutes


Production: M.ART
Co-production: Festival d’Avignon
Supported by Gogol Center.
Supported by the Freunde der Schaubühne am Lehniner Platz e.V.

FIND is supported by the Senate Department for Culture and Europe, Berlin

 

The show contains explicit depictions of sexual actions.
Caution: Strobe lights will be used during this performance.

«  June  »

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun

1

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

24

25

26

27

28

29

30

         
 

Trailer

«  Oktober  »

Mo Di Mi Do Fr Sa So

1

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15 16 17 18
19 20 21 22 23 24 25
26 27 28 29 30 31  

Outside

(Moskau)
von Kirill Serebrennikov
Regie: Kirill Serebrennikov


Gastspiel im Rahmen von FIND 2020

»Das Leben ist eine Lüge. Wahrheit ist eine Lüge. Wenn ich ein Foto mache, bin ich nackt …« Ren Hang

Der chinesische Fotograf Ren Hang fotografierte Stadtlandschaften, die Natur und vor allem die nackten Körper junger Männer und Frauen in seiner Pekinger Wohnung. Hangs Fotos zeigen eine neue chinesische Generation in ihrem rebellischen Lebenswillen und einer unangepassten Schönheit, die im scharfen Kontrast stehen zum staatlich verordneten Bild der Jugend. Seine weniger bekannten Gedichte sind dunkler, handeln von Sex, Einsamkeit, Depressionen, der Liebe und dem Tod. Die Kunst von Ren Hang faszinierte den Regisseur Kirill Serebrennikov, beide planten eine gemeinsame Zusammenarbeit. Nur 48 Stunden vor einem verabredeten Treffen der beiden nahm sich der damals 29-jährige Ren Hang in Peking das Leben. Serebrennikov entschied sich unter dem Schock des Verlusts, Hang ein Denkmal zu setzen, und in seiner Inszenierung seine eigenen Erfahrungen im Leben und Werk von Ren Hang zu spiegeln. Nur wenige Monate später wird Serebrennikov selbst Opfer politischer Repressionen in Russland: Man wirft ihm Steuerbetrug vor und verordnet einen mehrere Jahre dauernden, vor kurzem aufgehobenen Hausarrest. So ist »Outside«, das Serebrennikov aus dem Gefängnis der eigenen Wohnung heraus schrieb und inszenierte, und das in Abwesenheit des Regisseurs beim Festival d’Avignon 2019 uraufgeführt wurde, auch das Ergebnis einer dramatisch abgebrochenen Begegnung zweier Künstler. In ihren Biografien und in ihrem Schaffen verteidigen sie vehement Themen wie Identität, Sexualität, Schönheit und den Platz des Einzelnen in totalitären Systemen – mit Humor, Poesie und einem ungebrochenen Willen zur Freiheit.

Kirill Serebrennikov (*1969, Rostow am Don) wechselte 1992 nach einem naturwissenschaftlichen Studium zum Theater. Er inszenierte zahlreiche klassische und zeitgenössische Texte in Moskau, daneben Opern am Bolschoi-Theater und in vielen europäischen Städten und drehte mehrere Spielfilme. Seit 2012 ist er Intendant des Gogol Center in Moskau. »Outside« ist seine dritte Arbeit, die beim FIND gezeigt wird, nach »Otmorozki« (2011) und »Idioten« (2014).

Choreografie: Evgeny Kulagin, Ivan Estegneev
Komposition Musik: Ilya Demutsky

Mit: Odin Lund Biron, Yang Ge, Georgy Kudrenko, Nikita Kukushkin, Julia Loboda, Andrey Petrushenkov, Evgeny Romantsov, Anastasia Radkova, Evgeny Sangadzhiev, Igor Sharoyko sowie Alexey Bychkov, Daniil Orlov, Andrey Polyakov (Musiker)

>>> Essay zu Stück in Pearsons Preview: Two Abesent Artists at the Schaubühne. Kirill Serebrennikov’s »Outside«

Trailer



Dauer: ca. 105 Minuten


Produktion: M.ART
Koproduktion: Festival d’Avignon
Gefördert durch das Gogol Center.
Mit Unterstützung der Freunde der Schaubühne am Lehniner Platz e.V.

FIND wird gefördert aus Mitteln des Landes Berlin, Senatsverwaltung für Kultur und Europa.

 

Die Vorstellung enthält explizite Darstellungen sexueller Handlungen.
Achtung: Bei dieser Vorstellung kommen Stroboskopeffekte zum Einsatz

 

 

«  Oktober  »

Mo Di Mi Do Fr Sa So

1

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15 16 17 18
19 20 21 22 23 24 25
26 27 28 29 30 31  
 

Trailer