Post Humains

(Montréal)
by Dominique Leclerc
Direction: Dominique Leclerc, Édith Patenaude
Studio


Guest performance during FIND 2019

»Post Humains« casts a look into a future that has already long been the present: in terms of research, development and innovation, it appears that humans are outpacing their own evolution quicker than ever before. For some time, human-developed technologies have been increasingly combined with the actual human body with the aim of extending, enhancing and optimising our physical and cognitive capabilities and functions. People are becoming their own creators. But who are these new creators, of whom some are working to eliminate forgetfulness, decay, aging and even death itself?

From the starting point of her own disease, Dominique Leclerc begins to look for alternatives to the outdated and expensive medical devices upon which she has previously been reliant. Her search in Canada, Europe and eventually Berlin leads her to new encounters: implant parties, bio-hackers and key players from the cyborg movement and the transhumanist community who are increasingly blurring the lines between therapeutic medicine and pure self-optimisation.

Dominique Leclerc (*1980, Lévis) is an actress and author. In »Post Humains«, her first project as author and co-director, she combines documentary theatre, auto-fiction, and performance together with her partner, German journalist Dennis Kastrup who she met during her quest. Leclerc and Kastrup probe the heart of the worldwide cyborg and transhumanist movements, testing their own and the audience’s limits. The theatre becomes a place for the audience, performers and protagonists from the scene to encounter each other. In this, the audience is invited to probe their own ethics and, together with the ensemble, participate in a reflection on the future of our species. What have we got to lose and what to gain? And how far will we go?

Direction: Dominique Leclerc, Édith Patenaude
Assistant Director, Exhibition and Set Design: Patrice Charbonneau-Brunelle
Video: Push 1 Stop
Sound Design: Gaël Lane Lépine
Lighting Design: Cédric Delorme-Bouchard
Stage Management: Claudie Gagnon
Technical Director: Gabriel Duquette, Maude St-Pierre
Production Director: Andrée-Anne Garneau

With: Dennis Kastrup, Dominique Leclerc, Didier Lucien, Édith Paquet

Duration: ca. 120 minutes


Production: TRS-80

Funded by Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec (CALQ) and Canada Council for the Arts (CCA)

Post Humains

(Montréal)
von Dominique Leclerc
Regie: Dominique Leclerc, Édith Patenaude
Studio


Gastspiel im Rahmen von FIND 2019

»Post Humains« wirft einen Blick in eine Zukunft, die schon längst mitten unter uns Gegenwart geworden ist: Mehr denn je scheint sich der Mensch in Sachen Forschung, Entwicklung und Innovation auf dem Weg der Evolution selbst zu überholen. Die von Menschen entwickelten Technologien verbinden sich seit einiger Zeit immer mehr mit dem eigenen Körper, mit dem Ziel, unsere physischen und kognitiven Fähigkeiten und Funktionen zu verlängern, zu erweitern oder zu optimieren. Menschen werden zu Schöpfern ihrer Selbst. Doch wer sind diese neuen Schöpfer, von denen einige daran arbeiten, Vergesslichkeit, Verfall, Altern, ja sogar den Tod selbst abzuschaffen?

Ausgehend von ihrer eigenen Krankheit beginnt Dominique Leclerc, Alternativen zu den veralteten und teuren medizinischen Geräten zu suchen, auf die sie bislang angewiesen war. In Kanada, Europa und schließlich in Berlin führt diese Suche sie zu neuen Begegnungen: mit Implantat-Partys, Biohackern und Protagonist_innen der Cyborg-Bewegung und der transhumanistischen Community, die die Grenzen zwischen heilender Medizin und purer Selbstoptimierung immer mehr verwischen.

Dominique Leclerc (*1980, Lévis) ist Schauspielerin und Autorin. Zusammen mit ihrem Partner, dem deutschen Journalisten Dennis Kastrup, den sie während ihrer Recherche kennenlernte, verbindet sie in »Post Humains«, ihrer ersten Arbeit als Autorin und Co- Regisseurin, dokumentarisches Theater, Autofiktion und Performance. Leclerc und Kastrup dringen vor ins Herz der weltweiten Cyborg- und transhumanistischen Bewegung, testen ihre eigenen Grenzen und die der Zuschauer_innen. Die Bühne wird zu einem Ort der Begegnung zwischen Publikum, Performer_innen und Protagonist_innen der Cyborg-Szene. In dieser Begegnung ist das Publikum eingeladen, die eigene Ethik zu überprüfen. Publikum und Ensemble nehmen gemeinsam an einer Reflexion über die Zukunft unserer Spezies teil. Was haben wir zu verlieren, was zu gewinnen? Und wie weit werden wir gehen?  

Regie: Dominique Leclerc, Édith Patenaude
Regieassistenz, Ausstellung und Bühne: Patrice Charbonneau-Brunelle
Video: Push 1 Stop
Sounddesign: Gaël Lane Lépine
Licht: Cédric Delorme-Bouchard
Inspizienz: Claudie Gagnon
Technische Leitung: Gabriel Duquette
Maude St-Pierre
Produktionsleitung: Andrée-Anne Garneau

Mit: Dennis Kastrup, Dominique Leclerc, Didier Lucien, Édith Paquet

Dauer: ca. 120 Minuten


Produktion: TRS-80

Gefördert durch Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec (CALQ) und Canada Council for the Arts (CCA)

 

 

Termine

Auf Französisch mit deutschen und englischen Übertiteln
Auf Französisch mit deutschen und englischen Übertiteln
Auf Französisch mit deutschen und englischen Übertiteln