Some Use for your broken Clay Pots

by Christophe Meierhans


F.I.N.D. #15
Guest Production by Hiros (Belgium)

Which forms of participation and co-determination are adequate to  our politically apathetic western democracies? For »Some Use for  your broken Clay Pots« Swiss performer Christophe Meierhans has,  together with constitutional experts and political scientists, intensi vely researched, discussed and, using the classical Greek method  of ostracism as a starting point, designed a new constitution in 350  articles which fills terms like democracy, participation and co-deter mination with new meaning. In a lecture-performance he develops  an astonishing political fiction, addresses the audience’s questions  and gives the impetus from the stage to rethink democracy.

Christophe Meierhans (*1977, Geneva) lives in Belgium and  works as a performance artist, composer and video designer. He is a founding member of the performance groups C&H (2000) and TAPE THAT (2002). His past projects include e.g. the short film »Up North Right East Down South Left West« from 2012.

Trailer

Concept, Realisation and Performance: Christophe Meierhans
Set Design: Sofie Durnez
Dramaturgy: Bart Capelle
Conceptual Advice: Rudi Laermans
Advising Team: Anne-Emmanuelle Bourgaux, Rudi Laermans, Jean-Benoît Pilet, Dave Sinardet
Constitutional Jurist: Anne-Emmanuelle Bourgaux


Co-production with Kaaitheater(Brussels), Workspace Brussels, Vooruit Arts Centre (Ghent), Teatro Maria Matos(Lisbon), BIT Teatergarasjen (Bergen), Kunstenfestivaldesarts (Brussels). Supported by the Vlaamse Gemeenschapscommissie und Government of Flanders.

 

Trailer

Some Use for your broken Clay Pots

von Christophe Meierhans


F.I.N.D. #15
Gastspiel von Hiros (Belgien)

Welche Formen von Teilhabe und Mitbestimmung sind unseren politikverdrossenen westlichen Demokratien angemessen? Der Schweizer Performer Christophe Meierhans hat für »Some Use for your broken Clay Pots« zusammen mit Verfassungsrechtlern und Politikwissenschaftlern intensiv recherchiert, diskutiert und ausgehend vom antiken Scherbengericht eine neue Verfassung in 350 Artikeln entworfen, die Begriffe wie Demokratie, Teilhabe und Mitbestimmung mit neuem Inhalt füllt. In einer lecture performance entwickelt er eine erstaunliche politische Fiktion, stellt sich den Fragen des Publikums und gibt von der Theaterbühne aus Anstoß, Demokratie neu zu denken.

Christophe Meierhans (*1977, Genf) lebt in Belgien und ar beitet als Performancekünstler, Komponist und Videodesigner. Er ist Gründungsmitglied der Performancegruppen C&H (2000) und TAPE THAT (2002). Zu seinen vergangenen Projekten gehört u. a. der Kurzfilm »Up North Right East Down South Left West« von 2012.

Trailer

Konzept, Realisation und Performance: Christophe Meierhans
Bühne: Sofie Durnez
Dramaturgie: Bart Capelle
Konzeptuelle Beratung: Rudi Laermans
Beratungsteam: Anne-Emmanuelle Bourgaux, Rudi Laermans, Jean-Benoît Pilet, Dave Sinardet
Verfassungsrechtlerin: Anne-Emmanuelle Bourgaux


Koproduktion mit dem Kaaitheater Brüssel, Workspace Brüssel, Vooruits Arts Center (Gent), Teatro Maria Matos (Lissabon), BITTeatergarasjen (Bergen), Kunstenfestivaldesarts (Brüssel). Gefördert von der Vlaamse Gemeenschapscommissie und der Regierung Flandern.