Sœurs

by Wajdi Mouawad
inspired by Annick Bergeron and Nayla Mouawad
Direction: Wajdi Mouawad


F.I.N.D. #15
Guest Production by Au Carré de l’Hypoténuse France and Abé Carré Cé Carré Québec (France/Canada)

In Wajdi Mouawad's new play »Sœurs« an expert in ethnic conflicts and an insurance loss adjuster encounter each other in a wrecked hotel room: two ostensibly very different women, both played by actor Annick Bergeron. The first grew up as part of the French-speaking minority in anglophone Canada and opted for a career over family life. One night, alone, disenchanted with her apathetic students, exasperated by the English voice command system in her anonymous, fully-automated hotel room, she sees red. The second fled as a child with her father from the civil war in Lebanon and forged a life for herself in the West. She still cares for her traumatised father who constantly makes out that it is she who is dependent upon him. Both women discover they have much more in common than at first appears.
Annick Bergeron, who as an actor often works with Wajdi Mouawad, has observed the latter’s older sister Nayla for many years. She interviewed and filmed her and used these approaches as the basis for some improvised scenes of her own. This material formed the starting point for Mouawad's text which, with great sensitivity and a lightness of touch, explores the relationship between sisters of greatly varying dimensions: between two individuals, between different times and continents, between the secure Canada of the West and civil-war torn Lebanon.  

Wajdi Mouawad (*1968, Beirut) is a Canadian author, actor  and director. He studied acting at the École Nationale de Théâtre  du Canada. His best-known plays include »Incendies« (2003)  and »Temps« (2011). In 2005 he received the Prix Molière for  best  francophone  author.  In  2009  he  was  appointed  Artiste  Associé at the Festival d’Avignon, where his production »Femmes«  was invited in 2011. »Temps« was first shown during the F.I.N.D.  at the schaubühne in 2011. Mouawads novel »Anima« received  numerous awards, e. g. the Prix Meditéranée and the Prix Phénix  (2013). 

>>> Essay about the production in Pearson's Preview: »Sœurs«: A correspondence with Wajdi Mouawad

Direction: Wajdi Mouawad
Stage Design: Emmanuel Clolus
Costume Design: Emmanuelle Thomas
Composition: David Drury
Musical direction: Christelle Franca
Dramaturgy: Charlotte Farcet
Lighting Design: Eric Champoux

With: Annick Bergeron

Duration: ca. 120 minutes


Co-production with Grand Théâtre de Loire-Atlantique, Théâtre National de Chaillot (Paris), Théâtre de l’Archipel scène nationale de Perpignan, Le Quartz scène nationale de Brest. Supported by Institut français and the French Ministry for Art and Culture/DGCA.

Sœurs

von Wajdi Mouawad
inspiriert von Annick Bergeron und Nayla Mouawad
Regie: Wajdi Mouawad


F.I.N.D. #15
Gastspiel von Au Carré de l’Hypoténuse France und Abé Carré Cé Carré Québec (Frankreich/Kanada)

In Wajdi Mouawads neuem Stück »Sœurs« treffen eine Expertin für Völkerkonflikte und eine Versicherungs-Sachverständige für Schadensfälle in einem zerstörten Hotelzimmer aufeinander: zwei augenscheinlich sehr ungleiche Frauen, beide gespielt von der Schauspielerin Annick Bergeron. Die eine wuchs als Teil der französischsprachigen Minderheit im englischsprachigen Kanada auf. Sie entschied sich für die Karriere und gegen ein Familienleben. Eines Nachts, allein, enttäuscht von ihren desinteressierten Studenten, entnervt von der englischen Sprachsteuerung ihres anonymen, vollautomatisierten Hotelzimmers, sieht sie rot. Die andere floh als Kind mit ihrem Vater aus dem Bürgerkrieg im Libanon, baute sich eine westliche Existenz auf, und kümmert sich bis heute um ihren traumatisierten Vater, der überall vorgibt, sie sei es, die auf ihn angewiesen ist. Die beiden Frauen entdecken, dass sie viel mehr gemeinsam haben, als auf den ersten Blick sichtbar ist.
Annick Bergeron, die als Schauspielerin eine enge Zusammenarbeit mit Wajdi Mouawad verbindet, beobachtete mehrere Jahre lang dessen große Schwester Nayla. Sie interviewte und filmte sie, improvisierte auf der Basis ihrer Annäherungen eigene Szenen. Dieses Material bildet den Ausgangspunkt für Mouawads Text, der mit großer Sensibilität und Leichtigkeit schwesterliche Beziehungen in ganz unterschiedlichen Dimensionen erkundet: zwischen zwei Individuen, zwischen Zeiten und Kontinenten, zwischen dem westlich abgesicherten Kanada und dem vom Bürgerkrieg zerrütteten Libanon. 

Wajdi Mouawad (*1968, Beirut) ist ein kanadischer Schriftsteller, Schauspieler und Regisseur. Er studierte Schauspiel an der École Nationale de Théâtre du Canada. Zu seinen bekanntesten Stücken zählen u. a. »Verbrennungen« (2003) und »Temps« (2011). 2005 erhielt er den Prix Molière als bester frankophoner Autor. 2009 wurde er zum Artiste Associé des Festival d’Avignon ernannt, zu welchem 2011 auch seine Produktion »Femmes« eingeladen wurde. Sein Stück »Temps« kam während F.I.N.D. 2011 an der Schaubühne zur Uraufführung. Mouawads Roman »Anima« erhielt zahlreiche Auszeichnungen, u. a. den Prix Meditéranée und den Prix Phénix (2013). 

>>> Englischsprachiger Essay zum Stück in Pearson's Preview: »Sœurs«: A correspondence with Wajdi Mouawad

Regie: Wajdi Mouawad
Bühne: Emmanuel Clolus
Kostüme: Emmanuelle Thomas
Komposition: David Drury
Musikalische Leitung: Christelle Franca
Dramaturgie: Charlotte Farcet
Licht: Eric Champoux

Mit: Annick Bergeron

Dauer: ca. 120 Minuten


Koproduktion mit dem Grand Théâtre de Loire-Atlantique, Théâtre National de Chaillot (Paris), Théâtre de l’Archipel scène nationale de Perpignan, Le Quartz scène nationale de Brest.
Mit freundlicher Unterstützung des Institut français und des französischen Ministeriums für Kultur und Kommunikation/DGCA.