«  August  »

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun

1

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16 17 18
19 20 21 22 23 24 25
26

27

28

29 30 31  

The Civil Wars

by Milo Rau
Concept, Text and Direction: Milo Rau


F.I.N.D. #15
Co-production with International Institute of Political Murder (Switzerland/Germany)

In »The Civil Wars« four Belgian and French actors – working associatively from the question of what drives young europeans to travel to Syria to establish a theocracy – create a tableau vivant of the most recent history of europe and the human condition at the be ginning of the 21st century. They recall their own youth, tell of their fathers and how they renounced them. They talk about madness,  faith and political convictions and ask what remains of them now. Where is Europe going? What holds this society together in an era  of radicalism, of looming climate wars and a general decline in values? How does a time of cultural upheaval register itself in private  lives? And is the theatre still of any use today as a medium of political reflection? With »The Civil Wars« the swiss theatre-maker Milo Rau develops a production about the premises of revolt and political commitment.

Milo Rau (*1977, Bern) is a director, playwright, journalist and essayist. He studied sociology, German and romance studies in Zurich, Berlin and Paris. He works as a freelance journalist for several newspapers and magazines, e. g. for the Neue Zürcher Zeitung. In 2007 he founded the International Institute of Political Murder (IIPM) which stands for a new documentary and aesthetically intensified form of political art. Numerous theatre projects, including »Hate Radio«, which was invited to the Theatertreffen Berlin in 2012. In 2014 he was awarded the Swiss theatre prize.

>>> Essay about the production in Pearson's Preview: Milo Rau, »The Civil Wars«, and Europe on trial.

Concept, Text and Direction: Milo Rau
Research and Dramaturgy: Eva-Maria Bertschy
Set and Costume Design: Anton Lukas
Video: Marc Stephan
Sound Design: Jens Baudisch
Lighting Design: Abdeltife Mouhssin, Bruno Gilbert, Aymrik Pech
Assistant Director: Mirjam Knapp
Production Management: Mascha Euchner-Martinez, Eva-Karen Tittmann
Musical Advice: Colette Broeckert, Eurudike De Beul

Performed and co-created by: Karim Bel Kacem, Sara De Bosschere, Sébastien Foucault, Johan Leysen

Duration: ca. 135 minutes


Co-production of IIPM – International Institute of Political Murder with Kunstenfestivaldesarts Brussels, Beursschouwburg Brussels, Zürcher Theater spektakel, Kaserne Basel, Schlachthaus Theater Bern, La Bâtie – Festival de Genève, schaubühne am Lehniner Platz Berlin and Théâtre Nanterre-Amandiers Paris. supported by the city of Zürich, Pro Helvetia, Ernst Göhner Stiftung, Migros Kulturprozent, kulturelles.bl, Kanton St. Gallen Kulturförderung / swisslos, Paul Schiller Stiftung, GGG Basel, Goethe-Institut Brussels and Pianofabriek Brussels.

«  August  »

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun

1

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16 17 18
19 20 21 22 23 24 25
26

27

28

29 30 31

The Civil Wars

von Milo Rau
Konzept, Text und Regie: Milo Rau


F.I.N.D. #15
Koproduktion mit dem International Institute of Political Murder (Schweiz/Deutschland)

In »The Civil Wars« entwerfen vier belgische und französische Schauspieler – ausgehend von der Frage, was junge Europäer dazu treibt, nach Syrien zu reisen, um dort einen Gottesstaat zu errichten – ein tableau vivant der jüngsten Geschichte Europas und der conditio humana im beginnenden 21. Jahrhundert. Sie erinnern sich an ihre eigene Jugend, sie erzählen von ihren Vätern und wie sie sich von ihnen losgesagt haben. Sie sprechen über Wahnsinn, Glaube und politische Überzeugungen und fragen, was davon übrig geblieben ist. Wohin treibt Europa? Was hält diese Gesellschaft noch zusammen in einer Epoche der Radikalismen, der sich ankündigenden Klimakriege und des allgemeinen Werteverfalls? Wie übersetzt sich eine kulturelle Umbruchzeit in private Lebensläufe? Und taugt das Theater heute noch als politisches Reflexionsmedium? Mit »The Civil Wars« entwickelt der Schweizer Theatermacher Milo Rau eine Inszenierung über die Prämissen von Revolte und politischem Engagement. 

Milo Rau (*1977, Bern) ist Regisseur, Theaterautor, Journalist und Essayist. Studium der Germanistik, Romanistik und Soziologie in Zürich, Berlin und Paris. Journalistische Tätigkeit für verschiedene Zeitungen und Zeitschriften, u. a. für die Neue Zürcher Zeitung. 2007 Gründung des International Institute of Political Murder (IIPM), welches für eine neue, dokumentarisch und ästhetisch verdichtete Form politischer Kunst steht. Zahl reiche Theaterprojekte, u. a. »Hate Radio«, welches 2012 zum Berliner Theatertreffen eingeladen wurde. 2014 Auszeichnung mit dem Schweizer Theaterpreis. 

>>> Englischsprachiger Essay zum Stück in Pearson's Preview: Milo Rau, »The Civil Wars«, and Europe on trial.

Konzept, Text und Regie: Milo Rau
Recherche und Dramaturgie: Eva-Maria Bertschy
Bühne und Kostüme: Anton Lukas
Kamera und Videodesign: Marc Stephan
Ton und Sounddesign: Jens Baudisch
Licht: Abdeltife Mouhssin, Bruno Gilbert, Aymrik Pech
Regieassistenz: Mirjam Knapp
Produktionsleitung: Mascha Euchner-Martinez, Eva-Karen Tittmann
Musikalische Beratung: Colette Broeckert, Eurudike De Beul

Text und Spiel: Karim Bel Kacem, Sara De Bosschere, Sébastien Foucault, Johan Leysen

Dauer: ca. 135 Minuten


Koproduktion des IIPM – International Institute of Political Murder mit Kunstenfestivaldesarts Brüssel, Beursschouwburg Brüssel, Zürcher Theater Spektakel, Kaserne Basel, Schlachthaus Theater Bern, La Bâtie – Festival de Genève, Schaubühne am Lehniner Platz Berlin und Théâtre Nanterre-Amandiers Paris. Mit Unterstützung der Stadt Zürich Kultur, Pro Helvetia, Ernst Göhner Stiftung, Migros Kulturprozent, kulturelles.bl, Kanton St. Gallen Kulturförderung / Swisslos, Paul Schiller Stiftung, GGG Basel, Goethe-Institut Brüssel und Pianofabriek Brüssel.