The Last Supper

Concept and Direction: Ahmed El Attar (Egypt)


Guest performance during FIND 2016

Following the Arab Spring and the revolution in Tahrir Square, Egypt finds itself in a period of social, economic and political transition. »The Last Supper« shines a light on this society in upheaval from the perspective of the upper ten thousand: the members of a rich extended family in Cairo who come together for a dinner par- ty. Eleven highly contrasting characters – from the nanny to the high-ranking officer, from the daughter raised in a very western, liberal way to the veiled daughter-in-law, who is already a mother several times over, to the filthy rich patriarch – meet each other across the dinner table. They chat about the children, philosophise about where the best servants come from, discuss politics and argue about whether London or Paris is the most interesting shopping metropolis. The dinner table conversations increasingly reveal their thoughtlessness, pointlessness and the unbridgeable gulf between the upper classes and the people in the street.
Ahmed El Attar’s plays, which he directs himself, are inspired by very diverse real life influences, including school textbooks, ser- mons and political speeches, classical literature, pop culture and coffee-house discussions. Visually influenced by Leonardo da Vinci’s painting, in »The Last Supper« Ahmed El Attar creates a tableau of Egyptian society after the fall of Mubarak. A portrait of the hypocrisy, nihilism and consumer-driven ignorance of the Egyptian bourgeoisie.

Ahmed El Attar, born in Cairo. Theatre director, playwright and translator. He has a BA in Theatre from the American University in Cairo and MA in Arts and Cultural Management from Paris III Sorbonne Nouvelle. He directed numerous theatre productions. Founder and Artistic Director of the Temple Independent Theatre Company and of Orient Productions as well as Artistic Director of D-CAF (Downtown Contemporary Arts Festival) and the Falaki Theatre. Additionally he co-founded the Studio Emad Eddin Foundation, that provides rehearsal, resi- dencies and training space to performing artists in Cairo. He was chosen by the Arabic edition of Newsweek as one of 42 persona- lities who have influenced change in the Arab world.

>>> A Q&A about the production in Pearson's Preview: A conversation with Ahmed El Attar

Concept and direction: Ahmed El Attar
Stage and Costume Design: Hussein Baydoun
Lighting Design: Charlie Aström
Music: Hassan Khan
Sound: Hussein Sami

With: Boutros Boutros-Ghali, Mahmoud El Haddad, Ahmed Farag, Mona Farag, Mohamed Hatem, Ramsi Lehner, Nanda Mohammad, Sayed Ragab, Abdel Rahman Nasser, Mona Soliman, Marwa Tharwat

Duration: ca. 55 minutes


A production of The Temple Independent Theatre Company in cooperation with Tamasi Collective.

MenüMenü    English

«  August  »

Mo Di Mi Do Fr Sa So

1

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

24

25

26

27

28

29

30

31

     

The Last Supper

Konzept und Regie: Ahmed El Attar (Ägypten)


Gastspiel im Rahmen von FIND 2016

Nach dem Arabischen Frühling und der Revolution auf dem Tahrir-Platz befindet sich Ägypten im gesellschaftlichen, ökonomischen und politischen Wandel. »The Last Supper« beleuchtet diese Gesellschaft im Umbruch aus der Perspektive der oberen Zehntausend: Die Mitglieder einer reichen Kairoer Großfamilie kommen anlässlich eines Abendessens zusammen. Elf höchst verschiedene Figuren, vom Kindermädchen über den hochrangigen Offizier, die sehr westlich gekleidete und geschminkte Tochter, die sich verschleiernde Schwiegertochter, die bereits mehrfache Mutter ist, bis zum schwerreichen Patriarchen, treffen am Esstisch aufeinander. Man plaudert über die Kinder, philosophiert darüber, woher das beste Personal stammt, diskutiert über Politik oder streitet darum, ob London oder Paris die interessantere Shopping-Metropole ist. Zunehmend entlarven die Gespräche bei Tisch die Gedankenlosigkeit, Sinnleere und die unüberbrückbare Kluft zwischen Oberschicht und einfachem Volk.
Ahmed El Attars Texte, die er selbst inszeniert, sind inspiriert von den unterschiedlichsten Einflüssen aus der Wirklichkeit, u. a. Schulbücher, Predigten oder politische Reden, klassische Literatur, Popkultur und Kaffeehausgespräche. Bildlich angelehnt an Leonardo da Vincis »Das Abendmahl« zeichnet Ahmed El Attar in »The Last Supper« ein Tableau der ägyptischen Gesellschaft nach dem Sturz Mubaraks. Ein Porträt von Doppelmoral, Nihilismus und konsumgesteuerter Ignoranz der ägyptischen Bourgeoisie.

Ahmed El Attar, geboren in Kairo. Theaterregisseur, Autor und Übersetzer. Er studierte an der American University in Kairo und schloss sein Theater-Studium 1992 mit dem Bachelor ab. MA in Arts and Cultural Management an der Paris III Sorbonne Nouvelle. Zahlreiche Arbeiten als Regisseur. Er ist Gründer und künstlerischer Leiter der Temple Independent Theatre Company und von Orient Productions für Film und Theater sowie künstlerischer Leiter des Downtown Contemporary Arts Festival (D-CAF) und dem Falaki Theater. Außerdem leitet er das von ihm mitbegründete Theaterzentrum Emad Eddin, welches Proben- und Trainingsräume sowie Residenzen an Performer in Kairo zur Verfügung stellt. Von der ägyptischen Ausgabe der Newsweek wurde er zu einer von 42 Personen gewählt, die wesentlichen Einfluss auf die Veränderung in der Arabischen Welt genommen haben.

>>> Englischsprachige Q&A zum Stück in Pearson's Preview: A conversation with Ahmed El Attar

Konzept und Regie: Ahmed El Attar
Bühne und Kostüme: Hussein Baydoun
Licht: Charlie Aström
Musik: Hassan Khan
Sound: Hussein Sami

Mit: Boutros Boutros-Ghali, Mahmoud El Haddad, Ahmed Farag, Mona Farag, Mohamed Hatem, Ramsi Lehner, Nanda Mohammad, Sayed Ragab, Abdel Rahman Nasser, Mona Soliman, Marwa Tharwat

Dauer: ca. 55 Minuten


Eine Produktion der The Temple Independent Theatre Company in Kooperation mit Tamasi Collective.



«  August  »

Mo Di Mi Do Fr Sa So

1

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

24

25

26

27

28

29

30

31