Festival International New Dram
31 March – 10 April 2022

In 2022, the Festival International New Drama is returning to its traditional slot in spring. From 31 March until 10 April, productions from the international theatre scene will receive their German premieres at FIND. Following the previous edition, which was postponed to October 2021 due to the pandemic, the festival is now resuming its established tradition of showing new works from large parts of the world. The 2022 festival is especially highlighting »the Americas«, from Canada to the USA to Chile, alongside the two French-speaking countries of Belgium and France.

Artist in Focus: Robert Lepage

In its upcoming edition, FIND is once again dedicating a focus to an important figure in international theatre: this time round it is the French-Canadian theatre director, writer, actor and filmmaker Robert Lepage (Montréal). Lepage’s work is unique in its extensive use of theatrical means and has shaped severval generations of theatre makers. It combines a joy in playfulness and sense of humour with tragedy, a breathtaking visual power with a rigorously deliberate economy of dramaturgy and staging.

One of Lepage’s most recent works, the monodrama »887«, is being shown in Berlin for the first time as he appears himself on the stage to undertake a journey into his own memory. The recollection of childhood and its reversals of fortune becomes a reflection on the mechanisms of remembering. At the same time, Lepage examines the common source of memory and theatre.

In »The Seven Streams of the River Ota«, created between 1994 and 1996, Lepage is reviving a masterpiece from his early years for FIND. The eponymous seven branches of the Ota River in Japan are incarnated in seven stories that represent the great scourges of humanity in the half century between 1945 and 1995: from the atomic bombing of Hiro- shima to the AIDS epidemic and the viral threats at the end of the millennium.

The various facets of Robert Lepage as an artist and especially as a filmmaker will also be highlighted by other events both live and online.

International Panorama

In »Until the Flood«, Dael Orlandersmith uses interviews with eyewitnesses and those affected to form the basis of an exploration into the background of the unrest in Ferguson, Missouri after the shooting of the teenager Michael Brown. Her performance of the results of this research brings a dra- matic face to the Black Lives Matter movement. Also on a documentary basis, Tina Satter (New York) develops the portrait of a whistleblower in »Is this a room«.

In »Kingdom« by Anne-Cécile Vandalem (Brussels), a family’s new home away from civilization becomes hell. In »Fraternité. Conte fantastique« (Fraternity. Fantastic Story), Caroline Guiela Nguyen (Paris) tells the story of survivors of a catastrophe who have lost their loved ones and help each other deal with this loss.

The Schaubühne Studio is hosting »L’aventure invisible«, the latest production by Marcus Lindeen (Paris/Stockholm) who explores questions about identity, death, and transformation through three reallife cases.

New Drama at the Schaubühne

With the co-production »El Oasis de la Impunidad«, the Schaubühne is continuing its longstanding collaboration with the Chilean director and writer Marco Layera. In the latest production with his company La Re-Sentida (Santiago de Chile), he tackles the 2019 Chilean uprising and the effect of violence on the street and the stage.

»A Girl’s Story«, the directorial debut at the Schaubühne of Sarah Kohm (Berlin) will also be celebrating its premiere in the Studio.

And Maja Zade’s most recent play »reden über sex«, directed by Marius von Mayenburg, can be seen from the repertoire.

 

FIND is supported by 

Senatsverwaltung Logo

Festival Internationale Neue Dramatik
31. März – 10. April 2022

Das Festival Internationale Neue Dramatik kehrt im Jahr 2022 zu seinem angestammten Termin im Frühling zurück. Vom 31. März bis 10. April werden bei FIND wieder Inszenierungen der internationalen Theaterszene zum ersten Mal vor einem deutschen Publikum aufgeführt. Nach der pandemiebedingt in den Oktober 2021 verschobenen vergangenen Ausgabe, knüpft das Festival nun wieder an seine eigentliche Tradition an: neue Werke aus weiten Teilen der Welt zu zeigen. Beson- dere Aufmerksamkeit widmet das diesjährige Festival dabei »den Amerikas«, von Kanada über die USA bis nach Chile, und daneben den zwei französischsprachigen Ländern Belgien und Frankreich.

Artist in Focus: Robert Lepage

In seiner kommenden Ausgabe widmet FIND erneut einer wichtigen Figur des internationalen Theaters einen Schwerpunkt: Im Zentrum steht diesmal der Theaterregisseur, Autor, Schauspieler und Filmemacher Robert Lepage (Québec).

Lepages Werk ist in seiner umfassenden Ausschöpfung der theatralen Mittel einzigartig und prägend für mehrere Generationen von Theaterschaffenden. Sein Werk verbindet Spielfreude und Humor mit Tragik sowie atemberaubende Bildgewalt mit einer streng durchdachten Ökonomie der dramaturgischen und szenischen Mittel.

Erstmals in Berlin zu sehen ist eines von Lepages jüngsten Werken, das Monodrama »887«. Lepage, selbst Darsteller auf der Bühne, unternimmt darin eine Reise in sein eigenes Gedächtnis. Das Wiedererleben der Kindheit und ihrer Peripetien wird zur Reflexion über die Mechanismen der Erinnerung. Dabei beleuchtet Lepage zugleich den gemeinsamen Urgrund von Gedächtnis und Theater.

In »The Seven Streams of the River Ota«, entstanden zwischen 1994 und 1996, erweckt Lepage für FIND ein Meisterwerk seiner frühen Jahre wieder zum Leben. Die titelgebenden sieben Arme des japanischen Ota-Flusses inkarnieren sich in sieben Geschichten, die stellvertretend die großen Plagen der Menschheit im halben Jahrhundert von 1945 bis 1995 vorführen: vom Atombombenabwurf in Hiroshima bis zur AIDS- Epidemie und den viralen Bedrohungen des ausgehenden Millenniums.

Darüberhinaus werden Filmaufnahmen und Dokumentationen seiner Arbeit im Rahmen des Festivals im Theater und online gezeigt.

Internationales Panorama

In »Until the flood« erforscht Dael Orlandersmith auf der Basis von Interviews mit Zeugen und Betroffenen die Hintergründe der Unruhen in Ferguson, Missouri, nach der Erschießung des Jugendlichen Michael Brown. Das von ihr selbst performte Resultat der Recherchen gibt der Bewegung Black Lives Matter ein szenisches Gesicht. Auch auf dokumentarischer Grundlage entwickelt Tina Satter (New York) in »Is this a room« das Porträt einer Whistleblowerin.

In »Kingdom« von Anne-Cécile Vandalem (Brüssel) wird für eine Familie die neue Heimat abseits der Zivilisation zur Hölle. In »Fraternité. Conte fantastique« (Brüderlichkeit. Fantastische Geschichte) erzählt Caroline Guiela Nguyen (Paris) von Überlebenden einer Katastrophe, die ihre Nächsten verloren haben und sich gegenseitig helfen, mit dem Verlust umzugehen.

Im Studio der Schaubühne wird mit »L’aventure invisible« zudem die neueste Produktion von Marcus Lindeen (Paris/ Stockholm) zu sehen sein, der sich anhand dreier realer Fall- geschichten mit Fragen über Identität, Tod und Transformation beschäftigt.

Neue Dramatik an der Schaubühne

Mit der Koproduktion »El Oasis de la Impunidad« setzt die Schaubühne ihre langjährige Zusammenarbeit mit dem chi- lenischen Regisseur und Autor Marco Layera fort. In seiner neuesten Produktion mit seiner Kompagnie La Re-Sentida (Santiago de Chile) setzt er sich mit der Rebellion in Chile im Jahr 2019 und der Wirkung von Gewalt auf der Straße und der Bühne auseinander.

Mit »Erinnerung eines Mädchens« feiert im Studio zudem die erste Regiearbeit von Sarah Kohm (Berlin) an der Schaubühne ihre Premiere.
Aus dem Repertoire ist
Maja Zades neuestes Stück »reden über sex« in der Inszenierung von Marius von Mayenburg zu sehen.

 

FIND wird gefördert durch

Senatsverwaltung Logo