Nils Ostendorf

Born in Hamburg in 1977. Studied jazz trumpet at the Folkwang Universität der Künste and at Rotterdams Conservatorium from 1997 to 2002. He complemented his training with stays in New York and at the Banff Centre for the Arts with scholarships by the NRW Department of Culture and the DAAD (German Academic Exchange Service) in 2000 and 2001. In 2000, honored with the Folkwang Award. Musical director, composer and musician for the productions »22, Blvd Lafayette« (2004) and »Loca mierda« (2005) of Samir Akika’s dance company »Les Petits Poissons«. Since 2006 he is also working as a composer and musician for theatre productions, since then cooperation with e. g. Felix Bürkle, Mikael Serre, Thomas Ostermeier, Marius von Mayenburg, Falk Richter and Yael Ronen, with whom he works regularly since 2015. His work brought him to e. g. Münchner Kammerspielen, Toneelgroep Amsterdam, Théâtre Vidy-Lausanne, Gorki Theater Berlin, Residenztheater, Schauspiel Hannover, Comédie de Reims and Theatre of Nations in Moscow. Also active as a trumpeter for numerous radio plays and sound-collage productions, such as by Thom Kubli, Alessandro Bosseti, Sebastien Roux, Peter Lenaerts and Philip Ludwig Stangl. In 2015 creation of »Sinfonia Llanera« during the project »Sinfonia Tropico« in Colombia, supported by an artist residence of the Goethe Institut. In 2017, founding of the synth-rock band »Polypore« with Daniel Freitag and Max Andrzejewski. Concert tours through Europe, the USA and Canada.


Hamlet by William Shakespeare (Direction: Thomas Ostermeier, 2008)
John Gabriel Borkmann by Henrik Ibsen (Direction: Thomas Ostermeier, 2008)
Die Nibelungen by Friedrich Hebbel (Direction: Marius von Mayenburg, 2009)
Die Ehe der Maria Braun nach einer Vorlage by Rainer Werner Fassbinder (Direction: Thomas Ostermeier, 2009)
Dämonen by Lars Norén (Direction: Thomas Ostermeier, 2010)
Othello by William Shakespeare (Direction: Thomas Ostermeier, 2010)
Maß für Maß by William Shakespeare (Direction: Thomas Ostermeier, 2011)
Bunny by Jack Thorne (Direction: Christoph Schletz, 2012)
2666 by Roberto Bolaño (Direction: Àlex Rigola, 2014)
Richard III by William Shakespeare, Direction: Thomas Ostermeier (2015)
Returning to Reims nach Didier Eribon, Direction: Thomas Ostermeier (2017)
History of Violence by Édouard Louis, Direction: Thomas Ostermeier (2018)
Italienische Nacht by Ödön von Horváth, Direction: Thomas Ostermeier (2018)
abgrund by Maja Zade, Direction: Thomas Ostermeier (Uraufführung, 2019)
Das Leben des Veron Subutex 1 by Virginie Despentes, Direction: Thomas Ostermeier (2020)
Returning to Reims nach Didier Eribon, Direction: Thomas Ostermeier (new Version, 2020)
Vernon Subutex 1 by Virginie Despentes, Direction: Thomas Ostermeier (2021)

In this season


by Maja Zade
Direction: Thomas Ostermeier
World Premiere


by Lars Norén
Direction: Thomas Ostermeier
German translation by Angelika Gundlach

Vernon Subutex 1

by Virginie Despentes
Direction: Thomas Ostermeier
Stage A

The Marriage of Maria Braun

After the original by Rainer Werner Fassbinder
Script: Peter Märthesheimer and Pea Fröhlich
Direction: Thomas Ostermeier 


by William Shakespeare
Direction: Thomas Ostermeier

History of Violence

by Édouard Louis
in a version by Thomas Ostermeier, Florian Borchmeyer and Édouard Louis
Direction: Thomas Ostermeier
German Premiere
Stage B

Youth without God

by Ödön von Horváth
directed by: Thomas Ostermeier

reden über sex

by Maja Zade
Direction: Marius von Mayenburg
World Premiere

Richard III.

by William Shakespeare
Direction: Thomas Ostermeier

Returning to Reims

based on the novel »Retour à Reims« by Didier Eribon
German translation by Tobias Haberkorn
Resumption (new version of »Returning to Reims«)
Direction: Thomas Ostermeier