An Enemy of the People

by Henrik Ibsen
In a version by Thomas Ostermeier and Florian Borchmeyer
Director: Thomas Ostermeier
Stage B

Dr. Stockmann discovers that the source of drinking and spa water is riddled with pathogenic micro-organisms, caused by industrial effluence. Stockmann wants to publish the findings in the newspaper and demands that the city council re-route the water pipes. Influential citizens and local journalists promise their support. However, his brother Peter, the mayor, raises some serious concerns: The economic prosperity of the spa town will be threatened. Suddenly the support for Stockman from the town's policymakers begins to wane. They spread seeds of doubt about his plans and try to cover up the fact of the contaminated water. But Stockmann insists on transparency and intends to go public on the matter. For him the affair has long since ceased to be about the polluted health spa, his target is society as a whole. Ibsen's drama wavers on a fine line between honesty and fanaticism. What is the potential for transparency in a commercialised society?


Author: Henrik Ibsen
Director: Thomas Ostermeier
Stage Designer: Jan Pappelbaum
Costume Designer: Nina Wetzel
Composer: Malte Beckenbach, Daniel Freitag
Dramaturg: Florian Borchmeyer
Light Designer: Erich Schneider
Wall paintings: Katharina Ziemke

Dr. Stockmann: Christoph Gawenda
Councillor: Konrad Singer
Mrs. Stockmann: Genija Rykova
Hovstad: Laurenz Laufenberg / Renato Schuch
Aslaksen: David Ruland
Billing: Moritz Gottwald
Morten Kiil: Thomas Bading

Duration: ca. 150 minutes

(without interval)

Premiered in Avignon on 18 July 2012
Premiered in Berlin on 8 September 2012

Tour Dates

Avignon (July 2012)
Melbourne (October 2012)
Lyon (January/February 2013)
Montreal (May 2013)
Quebec (May 2013)
Athens (July 2013)
Venice (August 2013)
São Paulo (September 2013)
Buenos Aires (October 2013)
New York (November 2013)
Paris (January/February 2014)
Rennes (March 2014)
Siegen (May 2014)
Istanbul (May 2014)
Oslo (September 2014)
London (September 2014)
Moskau (October 2014)
Belfast (October 2014)
Cluj-Napoca (November 2014)
Lausanne (February 2015)
Delhi, Kolkata and Chennai (February 2015)
Naples (June 2015)
Pilsen (September 2015)
Tbilissi (October 2015)
Minsk (October 2015)
Bogotá (March 2016)
Torún (May 2016)
Seoul (May 2016)
Copenhagen (June 2016)
Santiago de Chile (January 2017)
Shizuoka (April 2018)
Singapur (May 2018)
Göteborg (August 2018)
Peking (September 2018)
Nanjing (September 2018)
Chapel Hill (October 2018)
Berkeley (October 2018)
Zagreb (October 2019)
Barcelona (June 2022)